Surly Bender Pro Series All-Grain Kit

SKU: U0503
Rating
18 Review(s)
Here’s what happens when substance meets smooth. This oatmeal brown ale defies traditional categories. Bender begins crisp and lightly hoppy, complemented by the velvety sleekness oats deliver. Belgian and British malts usher in cascades of cocoa, coffee, caramel and hints of vanilla and cream. An easy-drinking ale with many layers of satisfaction.

A note on yeast: Surly uses White Labs WLP007 Dry English Ale; with Surly's blessing, we suggest Wyeast 1335 as the default option so customers (especially mail order customers) can more easily evaluate viability before brewing.

0503

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Patience will pay off Review by Tom
Rating
I brewed this as my first batch of 2014. This beer definitely improves tremendously if you give it some age. After going through one case fairly quickly, I put the second aside. Cracked open a bottle tonight and it is unbelievably smooth and delicious. Tastes almost like liquid dark chocolate. Kept a nice frothy head to the bottom of the glass. It is good young, but it is EXCELLENT given some age. I only wish I could get my hands on a can of the real stuff to taste it side by side. (Posted on 5/19/14)
Great, complex flavor. Review by Robert
Rating
Great brew. Dark color, coffee, malt, and hops. It's been a crowd-pleaser at every holiday party I brought it to. I'll definitely be brewing this again. (Posted on 1/3/14)
Awesome!!! Review by Adam
Rating
Great clone recipe! The flavor and aroma are spot on. (Posted on 1/1/14)
Changed my mind about brown ales. Review by Justin
Rating
This is one of the tastiest brown ales I have ever had. Not to mention the level of aroma is very well paired to hike up the skirt on this beer's flavor. Never have been a fan of brown ales until I met the surly bandwagon. (Posted on 12/24/13)
Completely delicious Review by fresh
Rating
Made a split batch (2.5gal regular and 2.5gal bottled with 4oz of coarsely ground cold-brewed bold coffee). Both turned out very tasty. The coffee version had the perfect amount of roastiness while the regular batch was more nutty and and tasted hoppier. Absolutely recommend this NB kit, no matter how you decide to brew it...you won't regret it. Well done Surly/NB! (Posted on 10/8/12)
Just like the real thing Review by Pete
Rating
I tried this side by side with a can of Bender and the only difference was mine had better head retention. Quite an awesome brew! (Posted on 6/27/12)
Great Beer and a must brew. Review by James
Rating
I used the 1335 yeast and had no problems with the fermentation. Finished at 1.010, temp @ 68 degrees. (Posted on 6/25/12)
Golden Naked Oats Rule! Review by Tim
Rating
I've been brewing all gain for more than 10 years and had never bought a pre made "kit." But while roaming the Northern Brewer site I came across this recipe which contained a grain (GN Oats) I had not used before and decided to give it a shot. I hit the target OG right on and pitched WL 002. Two weeks primary, one week in bottle and Wow, this is why I homebrew. A fantastic brown ale that may not fit squarely in any "style," but is SURLY impressive. The oats provide a unique, understated berry like flavor and a creamy smooth mouthfeel. The hopping is spot on with just enough bitterness, taste and aroma to balance all of the malt great flavors. My only disapointment is that I can not buy this beer here in NJ. (Posted on 3/16/12)
Malty, delicious. Review by Codemunki
Rating
This beer has a lot of character. There's a big hop aroma, mixed with some dry grainy notes from the aromatic malt. The chocolate malt really comes through and goes well with the mild hop bitterness. Great, smooth mouthfeel.

The British Ale II yeast does not have great attenuation. I've brewed this twice. The first time it finished at 1.018 and the second finished at 1.020. It does't taste sweet, though, so I think this is by design. (Posted on 12/9/11)
Worth the effort Review by Kevin
Rating
Great beer. I think this may be one of my favorite all-time homebrews. If you like brown ales, you should definitely give this one a try. Overall, it is a bit heavier than most browns, but it has a great flavor. I will be brewing this one, again. (Posted on 12/5/11)

Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register