Surly Cynic Pro Series Partial Mash Kit

SKU: U0520
Rating
28 Review(s)
Don't let your friends know you're brewing this one, they'll probably invite themselves over just so they can drink the whole batch! Cynic Ale melds Old World ingredients in a new school style. French malted barley, English oats and Belgian yeast create honey & black pepper flavors. Lively Slovenian hops provide the floral, apricot and peach notes. Toss your doubts away, toss one back and enjoy!

A note on yeast: Surly uses White Labs WLP550; with Surly's blessing, we suggest Wyeast 3522 as the default option so customers (especially mail order customers) can more easily evaluate viability before brewing.

0520

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 28 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Very interesting beer Review by bruce
Rating
Can't compare to original, as I haven't had the privilege. I have brewed numerous time. And have modified the recipe on a few(some by accident). Using WLP-550. Ferment 63-65 in lager chamber.

straight NB recipe - somewhere between a Hefe and Belgian. Good session beer. This is leaving all trub behind. Its a little weak, but tasty

Second - NB recipe. Dumped all trub in fermenter to increase hop character(remember to transfer within 2 weeks to avoid grassy beer(yep did that. Not good)_)

third - Forgot to add last hops at flame out. So, decided to dry hop in secondary. Also, decided to dump in all trub to boost hop character. Secondary on 2 weeks(important with all that trub, if you want to avoid that grassy beer). Probably my favorite.
(Posted on 5/17/14)
Buy this kit right now. Review by Dusty
Rating
I brewed this kit about 6 months ago. I split the kit. 2 gallons with the Wyeast 5526. It was perfect. Everything I love in a saison.

For the other three gallons, I pitched Wyeast 5526 Brettanomyces Lambicus and added bottle dregs from three commercial sours. My plan was to keep bottles of this over a long period of time and I still will keep a few but it's hard. This is by far the best beer I have ever brewed and one of my favorite beers I've ever drank as well. I'm ordering the kit again in the hope that it will turn out just as good. Buy it now. (Posted on 1/20/14)
Great hopped beer with memorable aroma Review by Michael
Rating
I would buy this one again! (Posted on 8/23/13)
Nice Review by Adam
Rating
I've been brewing a number of the Northern Brewer partial mash kits and they are all well done. This one is no exception.

For me, partial mash provides the ease of extract while allowing some experimentation and learning towards all grain. Towards that end, the format of the kits along with the brew-day sheets are really useful.

I popped my first test bottle after two weeks of carbonation and found it could use more time but is definitely very drinkable. Lots of the fruity esters associated with a Saison. It didn't turn out quite as dry as I might have wanted so that will be something for met to play with next time. (Posted on 8/12/13)
very nice Review by Matt
Rating
Only been in the bottle a few weeks, but this is good stuff. I used 3711 French Saison yeast because that's what I had. Color is perfect. If the other reviews are any indication, it will only get better with age. Once again, if you don't like Saisons/Farmhouse Ales, this probably isn't the beer you're looking for. If you do like this style, then this is a fine example. A fellow brewclub member has several cans of Cynic and is bringing one to the next meeting so we can compare/contrast.... (Posted on 3/6/13)
Give it time!!! Review by Scott
Rating
I tried this beer after the recomended 6 weeks. I hated it. So, I left it in the cellar for another 2 months. It is now one of my absolute favorites!!!
Smooth with a pepper and sour apple taste.
I can't wait to make this one again. (Posted on 11/21/12)
Brew it up! Review by Ulick
Rating
Great flavor, I am realy happy with this.......Brew it up,
Left it in secondary for a month. SG 1.049 FG 1.019
3.9%ABV. (Posted on 10/13/12)
Can't wait for another batch! Review by Benjamin
Rating
From the moment I tapped the keg this beer was phenomenal. After several weeks in the keg (and right before I polished it off) this beer became perfectly clear and the flavors really evolved and began working together to create one of my favorite brews of all time. Supreme kit. (Posted on 9/27/12)
Excellent! Review by Jeremy
Rating
My first partial mash... not the smoothest experience trying to hold the temperature, but didn't seem to affect quality in the end.

Topped up my fermenter, so OG was low. More like a session saison which I preferred anyhow. OG 1.048, FG 1.010 for ABV of 4.9%.

Used the Ardennes yeast for 79% attenuation. Nice job NB! (Posted on 8/7/12)
MMMMMMM GOOOOOOD Review by Bunkhouse Brewery
Rating
This started out a little edgy, wasn't sure bout the taste test while transferring to secondary. But upon kegging and carbonating.....WOW! Drew my first glass today.....will be getting more of this....really good! (Posted on 5/3/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 28 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register