Surly Cynic Pro Series All Grain Kit

SKU: U0523
Rating
23 Review(s)
Don't let your friends know you're brewing this one, they'll probably invite themselves over just so they can drink the whole batch! Cynic Ale melds Old World ingredients in a new school style. French malted barley, English oats and Belgian yeast create honey & black pepper flavors. Lively Slovenian hops provide the floral, apricot and peach notes. Toss your doubts away, toss one back and enjoy!

A note on yeast: Surly uses White Labs WLP550; with Surly's blessing, we suggest Wyeast 3522 as the default option so customers (especially mail order customers) can more easily evaluate viability before brewing.

0523

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 23 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Meh Review by Timothy
Rating
I love Surly just as much as the next person, but to basically call this a Cynic clone is misleading. The alcohol is lower than the original and the coloring is also lighter. Granted, depending on your brewing skills and equipment the final product will differ. The taste is still good and I love Saison-styles like this, but it is off from the original. I haven't tried any other Surly Pro-Series kits, but the Furious clone seems to be closer to the original's specs when looking at the instructions. I will have to try that next. (Posted on 12/12/13)
Excellent beer Review by Shawn
Rating
What can I say besides that? Except I have 10 more gallons of this beer in primary right now. (Posted on 9/21/13)
Intriguing, the yeast will work some serious magic. Review by Armagh
Rating
I typically make 4-5 Saisons each spring/summer. Made this for the first time this year and plan to add it to the regular rotation. The malt/hop combination is dialed in. If you chill to 65*F, pitch a starter, hold below 70*F for 72 hours and let rise to room temps (78-80*F), the yeast will work some serious magic. (Posted on 8/6/13)
Very different Review by mike
Rating
Maybe something went wrong in the brew, but like another reviewer said, this one started out tasting fine when I pitched, and after 2 weeks before transferring to secondary but after 5 weeks it comes out of the tap somewhat sour with a yeasty bite that isn't all that pleasant.

I do like brewing unusual beers, and until now I felt pretty confident with the NB kits that get good reviews. I think I'll stick to what I know for a while though, this one is pretty left field. (Posted on 11/18/12)
The best yet Review by Abe
Rating
think this beer is best served warm. It brings out all the taste! Brewing was easy and simple. Instructions were great. I was a little off on my numbers, but hey, I had an awesome beer regardless. I'm buying this one again. (Posted on 10/4/12)
Cynic Rocks! Review by Arthur
Rating
Awesome beer!, stuck to the recipe w/Ardens yeast. Received many complements on this one! Very refreshing!, went fast! Ordering another kit now! (Posted on 6/10/12)
Outstanding Review by Raphael
Rating
I gave a sample of this to a certified beer judge and he could find no flaws. This was one of the best beers I have brewed, period. Extremely complex, a symphony of flavors on the palate. I will eventually brew this recipe again, and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves craft beer. (Posted on 5/25/12)
fan-effing-tastic Review by timuel
Rating
this is one of my absolute favorites to date. i wouldn't change a thing. (Posted on 5/6/12)
Oh Cynic, my very old selfish friend! Review by C-Brew
Rating
Great Drinkable Ale, especially in the died heat of the summer. Fermented in the low 80's and turned out great. (Posted on 1/4/12)
Great saison Review by Gabe
Rating
Great beer. Very drinkable with nice flavors. I didn't do a head-to-head but I didn't notice any differences between it and the Cynic. Loved the yeast and repitched it in my own recipe and will use it again. (Posted on 12/13/11)

Items 1 to 10 of 23 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register