Fermenter's Favorites™ Yeast Starter Kit - 1000 ml

SKU: 7055
Rating
32 Review(s)

Propagating a single pack of yeast using our yeast starter kit exponentially increases the number of cells you pitch. With a higher pitching rate, you will see a shorter lag phase, lower amounts fermentation-related off-flavors, and less incidence of bacterial contamination in your beer.

Preparing a yeast starter is easy - you mix a very small batch of malt extract wort (without hops), briefly boil and chill it, then ferment it in a flask a day or two before brewing the main batch. The yeast cells from a single pack of yeast will reproduce in the starter, increasing in number from a few dozen billion cells to hundreds of billions.

The 1000 ml yeast starter kit is a great general-purpose size for five gallon batches. It features a heat-resistant borosilicate glass flask, a foam stopper, one pound of DME, and complete instructions.

Making Yeast Starters

Fermenter's Favorites™ Yeast Starter Kit - 1000 ml

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
If you are not using starters, you should start. Review by Tim
Rating
It is really easy to make a starter culture a day or two before the brew, and it lets you know that some 'slow starter' strains are actually healthy before you pitch them. I think getting a good pitch rate is really important for getting a good final product, and this starter kit really helped me make better beers. FYI, be careful swirling a late starter culture, as the gas bubbles coming out will blow the foam right out of the flask, and maybe even some of the starter. (Posted on 7/24/14)
Strong Yeast is good yeast. Review by CJ
Rating
Works great with my Vortex stir plate. My beer quality has gone through the roof using a starter. No lag time and stronger yeast makes much better beer. (Posted on 3/5/14)
Skeptic turned believer. Review by Paul
Rating
I had my doubts that a starter would make a difference once the yeasties got working. Boy was I wrong! More yeast to start means a faster start, less stress and a better beer. (Posted on 2/26/14)
great product... vague instructions Review by leprecaun jon
Rating
this flask is a great investment, i bought it with good intentions to make great beer, but didn't have a use for it till my irish ale yeast arrived kinda slushy/ frozen. the quality of the product is great but the instructions are a little vague.... i followed all of the instructions, up to the part where " you may want to decant, the spent wort".... and my results weren't quite what i expected and i didn't know much better but i didn't have any yeast slurry after 9 hours of refrigeration... and tried to decant... i believe a dvd instructional much like the " making a yeast starter" youtube video northern brewer has online would have saved me and helped much more than the written paper instructions alone. (Posted on 2/3/14)
First Yeast Starter Review by Ryan
Rating
This is the first time I have made a yeast starter and Man did it make a difference. Will buy again. (Posted on 1/22/14)
Very easy....outstanding! Review by casey
Rating
Really kick starts fermentation! I will use a starter kit with all my beers! (Posted on 1/5/14)
Defiantly upped my brewing with this purchase. Review by Gregory
Rating
Used this to make a started for a wee heavy. First time I've ever made a starter for a beer. Boy did it work well. The krausen on this thing was insane. Beer isn't finished fermenting yet but I'm feeling real good about it and I think the starter has a lot to do with this. A great buy. (Posted on 12/11/13)
Why Did I Not Do This Sooner! Review by Dave
Rating
I wish I had done this much sooner. I will probably do a yeast starter for any gravity brew now. My local microbrew brewer advised me this would take the sweet out of some of my beers by getting a much better fermentation. It really took of and lasted longer with the yeast starter. A must have. (Posted on 12/11/13)
Very Pleased Review by Brad
Rating
Very happy with the flask and foam stopper, bought for my first introduction into making yeast starters, fermentation is much faster after the first couple batches. (Posted on 12/9/13)
Never buy the same yeast again! Review by Robert
Rating
This starter kit is the best way to quadruple your yeast from a whitelabs vial or wyeast smack pack. Takes about 25 minutes of your time including clean up. I highly recommend using a stir plate with this kit. Best part of making a yeast starter, in my opinion, is that after I've harvested the yeast, I decant off enough to fill the whitelabs vial again before pitching the yeast, and I have enough yeast for a starter next time I brew with that yeast strain! I've avoided buying the same yeast since I got the kit. This kit has paid for itself in yeast alone after 3 batches. Not to mention this kit is a necessity when brewing high gravity beers. All in all, great product! (Posted on 11/15/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register