Rye Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U0620
Rating
30 Review(s)
An American-style stout brewed with NB’s exclusive rye malt syrup, plus chocolate rye in the specialty grain blend - think oatmeal stout, but with an oilier mouthfeel and pumpernickel-bread overtones thanks to the spicy, earthy character of rye. The combination of balanced bitterness, no late hopping, and a malt-forward yeast lets the character of the grain show in the glass. Assertive roast malt presence keeps this hefty ale from sagging in the mid-palate and sends it sailing into a long, bittersweet finish.

Rye Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Everything I want in a stout Review by jim
Rating
Have made this many times. Everytime its been perfect. The last bottle is always the best. I need to learn to wait. Give it several weeks of conditioning, it just gets better. Goes perfect with smokey bbq. (Posted on 9/30/14)
Another Great Stout Review by Tony
Rating
I didn't do anything special other than follow the recipe, but I'm very proud of this beer. Folks are impressed by the pumpernickel aroma and complex taste. I enjoy drinking it as much as showing it off. (Posted on 5/18/14)
Excellent Brew Review by Daniel
Rating
Following suggestions from a couple of other brewers' reviews here, I added about a half-cup of molasses to the secondary, everything else was by the book other than using a little less priming sugar than suggested because I've had a couple of over-carbonated batches. It was still pretty flat after two weeks, but after four in the bottle it's reminiscent of a cask-conditioned stout with a great complex flavor profile. Used Nottingham yeast, which performed wonderfully in my sub-70-degree basement. Highly recommended. (Posted on 4/18/14)
Awesome Starter Rye Review by longbowaj
Rating
This was my first rye beer and I really wanted to get as much rye flavor as possible. Did a full boil. I added 2oz of hungarian chunks med char that i soaked in rye whiskey (templeton rye). I soaked the chunks while the beer fermented. After fermentation i added the chunks to secondary and waited two weeks to bottle.

Appearance: Dark but not pitch black, could see some light through the beer. Slightly tan head.

Aroma: Like in a field of rye

Taste: All rye in the front end finishing with hints of oak and chocolate. Comes off a little bitter at the end.

If i were to do anything i may adjust the hop schedule for less bitterness. (Posted on 3/30/14)
Incredible complexity Review by Blaine
Rating
This turned out fantastic. 2 weeks each in primary and secondary. I used 1/2 cup table sugar for priming and the carb is perfect. Very complex flavors. Very tasty. (Posted on 3/19/14)
quick good beer Review by KC
Rating
2 wks primary 1 wk secondary 1 and a half in bottle so far pretty good stout but not ready yet. (Posted on 12/17/13)
very good kit Review by JR Pathfinder
Rating
I have been brewing for 8+ years. Tried this adding oak chips soaked in Makers Mark. Turned out great. Some of my friend that are not in to dark beer really thought this was a great beer. I didn't tell them it was home brew and the wanted to know where I got it and what it was so they could go and buy some. Need less to say they all want me to brew some more of it. (Posted on 9/7/13)
Excellent kit! Review by Kyle
Rating
I recently brewed this kit after taking a brief hiatus from brewing. This kit sat in my hot garage in Macon, GA for an entire year, and it still came out delicious. The keg was empty after 3 weeks. I can't imagine how good it would have been if my ingredients were fresh. I will definitely be brewing this one again, and I may try the all grain version next time. (Posted on 8/3/13)
We love this beer! Review by Kyle
Rating
My wife and I both love this beer! It's so drinkable, looks great, too. And it's inexpensive and quicker than most from brewing to drinking. Nice! (Posted on 7/28/13)
Crisp and Refreshing! Review by Carl
Rating
I decided to brew this Rye Stout because it was cheap, highly rated, and a Rye beer (which I hadn't brewed any yet). It turned out great! Dark black beer, that's amazingly crisp clean and bitter in the Rye way. I've got it on tap and I'm sure it won't last long (sadly). I don't know how to describe a Rye beer other than it's got a little different bitter to it (not exactly like a hoppy, but somewhat similar), and I for one really liked it (along with everyone who I've let try it)! Buy it already! (Posted on 7/14/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register