Rebel Rye Porter Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains

SKU: U0830
Rating
12 Review(s)

From London to Kentucky and all points in between, porters have been a perennial favorite of beer lovers and brewers for most of modern history. And for those of us who can’t get enough rye in our beers, our new Rebel Rye kit takes it to a whole new level.

Like our renowned Bourbon Barrel Porter recipe, the Rebel Rye calls for the addition of American oak cubes soaked in whiskey added to the secondary. But here the porter is a rich, malty brown porter without all the sharp edges of its robust brother to obscure the inherent spicy, oily character of a healthy dose of rye malt. And that element is elevated with the use of rye whiskey instead of bourbon. The result is intense rye spiciness jutting out over subdued roast character and a dense malt base.

U0830

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
A little thin Review by John
Rating
I got this kit for free during one of NB great promotions and brewed it during the AHA big brew day. All went well following the kit directions. I Kegged it added some decent bourbon and the oak about 4 months ago and left it to sit. The oaked bourbon flavor is great but the beer lacks the mouthfeel and body to go along with the big wood and bourbon flavor. (Posted on 9/22/14)
Freakin' Awesome Review by Tom
Rating
I've done about 15 beers in the last 10 months, mostly NB kits with some tweaks. Did this beer pretty much according to the instructions, but added an extra pound of pilsen DME. Used Jim Beam Rye, soaked the oak for about 48 hours and put that in for about 7 days before bottling. Best. Beer. Ever.
I tend to sample at every step. A sip when bottling had me nervous since the whiskey was super strong. Cracked a bottle at one week, and again, the whiskey was way up front, but the flavor was pretty darned good.
Long story short, after about 2 weeks in the bottle, this beer got better by the day. The whiskey started to take a back seat to the malty deliciousness. Tonight, about 5 weeks after bottling, and down to just over half a case, it's smooth and malty, with just the perfect hint of rye whiskey. I'm ordering another kit now, which is why I decided to write this, since I'm on the web site.... (Posted on 8/4/14)
Smooth - very easy to drink Review by Jeff
Rating
I was very excited to try this batch. I did encounter some issues with my initial fermentation and had to introduce additional dry yeast to reach the desired gravity. The good news is that it didn't seem to impact the final batch. After reading some reviews, I limited the oak exposure to 7 days. The end result was a very smooth beer with a little spicy bite. I'm not 100% sure if it is from the beer or the Rye whiskey but I like it. I used Sazarac rye which provided to be a good choice and it's modestly priced. I will definitely brew this recipe again in the future.

Interesting fact: I brewed this in parallel with the Bourbon Barrel recipe with Marker's Mark for a comparison of the porters with oak and whiskey infusion. I enjoyed both but preferred the the spicy zing of of the rye when compared to the sweetness of the bourbon.

You can't go wrong with either but I preferred the rye. (Posted on 1/7/14)
Rye Flavor is great Review by N Burd
Rating
I love the rye and oak flavors in every bottle. I will def be brewing this one again. (Posted on 11/13/13)
not for me Review by Ross
Rating
Neighbor and i did this one together and everything went according to plan. After 3 months in the bottle, it tasted like whiskey, a minerally tasting porter, and the wood chips we sweep up from or wood shop floor. After 6 months it was a smoother blend of the 3 things mentioned above. Not for me, neighbor liked it (Posted on 10/9/13)
Amazing full bodied porter Review by Kevin
Rating
Patience is key - I made this my last beer before the warm weather arrived. Let it condition 4 months - results are amazing. I used Bullet Rye Whiskey and the aroma when opening was amazing. Very well balanced, and has been very well received. One of my favorite beers. (Posted on 8/29/13)
not a porter guy until i brewed this Review by owlman
Rating
i am a hop head and wasn't overly enthusiastic about this until it was kegged. the first couple of draws were oakey and whiskey-ee, but thereafter, this was an amazing beer. sadly, i shut the mini-fridge door and it pinched the picnic tap and when i came home, 2 gallons of the beer were on the floor and a 10 pound co2 container was empty. there is an up side though: my houseplants are doing well and my floor is the best tasting floor ever. (Posted on 8/25/13)
Very Nice with Cacao Nibs Review by Alexander
Rating
I brewed this one again since I kind of screwed up the oak additions last time (way too long). I used 4 oz of cacao nibs instead of oak and after about 10 days the beer has a very nice flavor profile. It's a little bitter, slightly spiced from the rye and specialty grains, and has a good amount of cacao presence. I would definitely do this beer again with nibs, and I'm thinking about using it for a Rye IPA base. (Posted on 5/7/13)
great beer, oak flavor builds quickly Review by Alexander
Rating
I really enjoyed this beer, used the max amount if time in primary and secondary. Left oak cubes in for fourteen days which was a little long, but the flavor settled down after kegging. At seven days the oak cubes were much more subtle, I would suggest around 10 if doing this again. (Posted on 2/16/13)
Delicious... just be patient Review by Matt
Rating
This was a great beer to brew. I'm a bit of an instant gratification type, so I did my best to be as patient as possible with this beer. I typically stick to doing a pale ale or a wheat so that I can have my beer fairly quickly, but I decided to be a little different with this guy.

I ended up going almost 2 weeks in primary and a solid 3-4 weeks in secondary before adding the whiskey and oak. I used Bulleit Rye as my whiskey, which I think makes a huge difference. You can spend $10 on a bottle of rye, or you can invest a little more and get something of quality, plus there's some leftover at the end to enjoy yourself. I let the beer sit another full 2 weeks after adding the whiskey and before bottling.

I started kegging my beer a few years ago, so bottling was another thing that was difficult for me to do, seeing as I hate to be patient. I'm now at 3 weeks since bottling and tried one of the beers; it was amazing. I'm going to let them sit in the cool, dark basement a few more weeks/months, but this is going to be a brew to remember.

One thing of note, I only used half the recommended amount of sugar when bottling. When I tend to be impatient my sugar levels never drop to where they're supposed to be, so I get over-carbonation problems. I decided to play it safe and only use half... I'd rather have a slightly carbonated beer versus a glass of foam. (Posted on 2/6/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register