Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Ale Beer Kit

SKU: U0900
Rating
50 Review(s)

Ale to the Chief! This original recipe, first customized and brewed by the White House kitchen staff, is now available by popular demand as a Northern Brewer kit. Built on a big foundation of malt with strong tones of biscuit and toffee, the Honey Ale plays up the fruity, caramel aspects of English malt and yeast. But much like the Founding Fathers would have spiced up traditional style ales with homegrown ingredients, a late addition of pure honey adds a revolutionary twist. Declare your independence from mediocre beers with this historic White House Homebrew!

Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Ale Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 50 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
OK Beer. Nothing out of this world! Review by aesco42
Rating
I added 16 OZ of honey from a local farmer's market and 1 lb of DME. Brought up the ABV to 7.3%! Flavor was OK and OK beer but nothing to brag about. First time I brewed and last time. There are way better beers on NB then this one. I only tried it because of the whole White House thing, but it is really overated. (Posted on 10/4/14)
Excellent beer Review by Susan
Rating
I went with the dry yeast option, and transferred to a secondary. I tried it after it was bottled for 3 weeks. Had that after taste and bite telling me it was NOT ready. I agree with others the longer it sits the better it is. Tried it again 2 weeks later and it was excellent! Nice flavors, the honey wasn't overwhelming but you could taste it, real smooth beer. I will definitely make this again. (Posted on 8/31/14)
Bitter Honey Review by Stophs
Rating
Bitter palate, big body, pretty malty. Didn't taste the honey very much. I would suggest adding extra honey to the wort, or a tad afterwards. Somewhat dry, hit a pretty high ABV. Not bad, not a favorite though. (Posted on 8/26/14)
Great Taste Review by James
Rating
Second batch i brewed, great taste had some trouble with smack pac, but added second batch of yeast and it came to life and started fermenting, did secondary turned out great!! (Posted on 8/26/14)
Guests Favorite Review by Mak
Rating
My 7th batch but first extract. Missed my final gravity readings a few points due to a rapid temp drop during fermentation. Initially the beer was just ok. 2 months later conditioning in the keg and it became the go to beer for all my guests. They really loved the flavor and smooth body. I will do this one again and try to get more attenuation from my yeast and may be a regular in my house. I really liked it! (Posted on 4/25/14)
tasty brew Review by Conrad
Rating
What a nice tasty brew. 1 month in the primary, did not do a secondary. 3 weeks in bottles, and they are golden delicious. I added an extra 8oz of honey, and used 2 smack packs of 1332 into a 1.5L starter. Big kraussen and nice golden color. not very hoppy, so if you like Hops you could add some extra. (Posted on 3/4/14)
Very good beer Review by Kris
Rating
I'm glad I started my brewing with this beer. It is so good that I got hooked. I have ordered second batch already. (Posted on 2/15/14)
Excellent Beer Review by Ryan
Rating
2nd kit brewed.. fantastic beer. Has a nice flavor and was very crisp with a slight honey finish. Would buy again! (Posted on 1/31/14)
Awesome!! Review by Jessica
Rating
I got this for my dad who is new to brewing and when he opened it up he had to call me right away and tell me how great it was. He was very happy with it, especially because he loves honey! Great gift that has that little something extra compared to other kits which makes it such a hit. (Posted on 1/14/14)
Best thing out of the White House Review by DaveS
Rating
Second time I brewed this kit -- great session brew that everyone loves, it goes quick…. but the longer you can wait the better it gets. My last 6 pack was in the bottle almost 5 months and it was the best. I hate it when that happens. I've added some local honey - really comes through nice. (Posted on 1/11/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 50 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register