Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Ale Beer Kit

SKU: U0900
Rating
46 Review(s)

Ale to the Chief! This original recipe, first customized and brewed by the White House kitchen staff, is now available by popular demand as a Northern Brewer kit. Built on a big foundation of malt with strong tones of biscuit and toffee, the Honey Ale plays up the fruity, caramel aspects of English malt and yeast. But much like the Founding Fathers would have spiced up traditional style ales with homegrown ingredients, a late addition of pure honey adds a revolutionary twist. Declare your independence from mediocre beers with this historic White House Homebrew!

Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Ale Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 46 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Honey of a beer Review by Robert
Rating
Just had to try beer the President drinks. I used the Windsor yeast, which I never used before, and it had me in a puzzle. It was done fermenting, like zero bubbles, in just under five days. Nevertheless, it stayed on the yeast 27 days, then bottled. Only recipe change was an added 4 oz maltodextrin at bottling. The beer turned out smooth, and, as someone mentioned, fruity. Leaning toward a big, raisiny Belgian Pale Ale, with a bow to an English Nut Brown Ale, with a nice lingering aftertaste. The honey? A bit cloudy, so use at least one tsp Irish Moss, or Whirlfloc tab. You will not be dissapointed with this kit. (Posted on 8/14/13)
Favorite so far Review by John
Rating
My 1st batch was kegged and forced carbonated. I enjoyed this beer so much that so far I have made two more batches. One batch went to another keg which is in the fridge and about to be tapped in a couple of days and bottled the third batch which I have put aside to carbonate in the bottles for 3 weeks and will be ready to go July 21st. This beer fits into everyones taste buds. My batches have been comming out with an ABV of 6.2 to 6.3 but does not taste like a beer with a higher alcohol content. Everyone so far loves it and I will be making more of it. (Posted on 7/16/13)
Excellent Brew Kit Review by James
Rating
I decided to try the White House Honey Ale during the summer months and I'm certainly glad I did. The honey flavor is strong but doesn't overpower the beer. Very smooth and drinkable, especially on a hot day. I highly recommend this one. If you're on the fence, give it a shot, you won't be disappointed. (Posted on 7/11/13)
Good with modifications Review by Slappy
Rating
I adjusted the hop schedule to use all of the supplied hops (4 oz net), and I was able to get, with a full wort boil (~5.2 gallons), around 37~38 IBU's. I used Wyeast 1272 (American Ale II) in place of the Windsor yeast. The OG was 1.058, and the FG was 1.009~1.010. I ended up with a pseudo EPA ~6.5% ABV. I just couldn't bear the thought of using Windsor yeast. Overall, a tasty beer. (Posted on 6/28/13)
Scary at first... But then Review by marcel
Rating
I actually developed my recipe directly from the "ale to the chief" web site, and from there brewed. My wife has a Marine Corps graduation soon so I rushed the fermenting so to speak (1week primary, 1 week secondary). After day seven in the bottle I decided to taste it to see how it was coming along and it was watery, sweet, and an almost dry immature alcohol taste to it. Needless to say I was worried because I have been bragging and getting a bunch of Marine Corps officers excited to taste it. Today, a week later, I tasted again and... wow! I mean this beer went from horrible to complex, smoother tasting and well balanced. So if anyone gets worried just wait, this beer gets better with time! I plan on getting these Marines happily drunk with my beer! (Posted on 6/20/13)
Great Beer Review by Ladonna
Rating
I just opened a bottle of White House Honey Ale and it is really good! I love it and I did not think I would like it as much as I do. My only regret is getting the 1 gallon recipe because I was not sure I would like it. I will be ordering the 5 gallon kit next time! (Posted on 6/7/13)
its good Review by dean
Rating
just tried the first of this kit recently and everyone liked it. Mild but with flavor. Even the girly beer likers liked it. (Posted on 5/20/13)
Updated from 4/10 to a Great 5 Star Beer Review by David
Rating
I decided to let the beer sit for 10 more days in the keg and man what a difference it made. This is one smooth sweet tasting beer. The Hoppy Flavor that was so pronounced 10 days ago has almost gone away to where there is just enough "Hops" to know its there. Once again I only used half the hops during brewing. (Posted on 4/22/13)
Very Tasty Indeed! Review by Bruce
Rating
This was my first kit from Northern Brewer. The more I drink this the more I like it. Followed the instructions to a T with the exception of late extract addition to keep the color on the lighter side. Even doing that it turned out darker then I anticipated. But that said, it's one of my fav beers that I've made so far (only made 4 so far) Just wish the weather would warm up so I could enjoy it on my patio ... Cheers!! (Posted on 4/12/13)
Great taste and smell with a hoppy finish. Review by David
Rating
Tasted this beer tonight for the first time out of a keg and it tasted great with lots of flavor, just did not like that hops after taste that came along with it. I'm a beginner brewer and this is my second batch, I really don't like the taste of "Hoppy" beer so I only used half the hops during brewing, wish I would have used .25% instead.
Wondering if in 3 weeks the 12 bottles I did will taste any different than the beer I kegged? (Posted on 4/10/13)

Items 21 to 30 of 46 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register