Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Ale Beer Kit

SKU: U0900
Rating
52 Review(s)

Ale to the Chief! This original recipe, first customized and brewed by the White House kitchen staff, is now available by popular demand as a Northern Brewer kit. Built on a big foundation of malt with strong tones of biscuit and toffee, the Honey Ale plays up the fruity, caramel aspects of English malt and yeast. But much like the Founding Fathers would have spiced up traditional style ales with homegrown ingredients, a late addition of pure honey adds a revolutionary twist. Declare your independence from mediocre beers with this historic White House Homebrew!

Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Ale Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 41 to 50 of 52 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
good stuff Review by Henry
Rating
Smooth........good beer I will make this again. Probably should try the porter, perhaps I will do both kits next time ordering. This is damned good beer! (Posted on 1/30/13)
Meh............ Review by Brent
Rating
Brewed this beer around three months ago. It is really cool that NB offers this kit, I am sure it sells well. I don't regret brewing this recipe, it was fun. Makes a pretty good beer, just not excellent in my opinion. Not trying to come off negative, but I wouldn't brew it again. However, the novelty makes it worth getting. Again, it is a pretty good beer, just didn't blow my mind. 4 stars, worth trying......... (Posted on 1/15/13)
a really nice kit Review by jason
Rating
as soon as this kit came out, i wanted to brew it and have it ready for election day. mission accomplished. and to the beer..... nice and malty up front with a nice balanced hop bite and notes of honey. when i brewed this, i swapped out the honey enclosed in the kit with some locally sourced wildflower honey and got a bit heavy handed with it and ended up with a 7.5% beer. even at that, the alcohol is very well hidden. a very nice beer with a story that is a piece of history. you should try it. i,m looking forward to brewing the honey brown next. (Posted on 1/14/13)
Delicious! Similar to Raison d'Etre Review by GA Beer Nut
Rating
Very good beer and I was surprised to find that it's high-gravity (~7%). To me, it tastes similar to Raison d'Etre, but not as heavy. I think it's more "accessible" and "drinkable" for people than Raison d'Etre, which is one of my favorite beers. (Posted on 1/3/13)
One of the best extract kits! Review by Mark
Rating
I have been brewing extract kits for a few years now, and this one is one of the best. My girlfriend was begging me to make another batch of it. (Posted on 12/10/12)
Believe the hype! Review by Daniel
Rating
This beer really is as good (or better) as all the hype. Yes, it's a "White House" brew, so that in and of itself is intriguing, but I must say, everyone I've shared this with (mostly the wife and I, but several friends too) have been very, very impressed. The flavors jump out at you, but it's the perfect amount--not too much, certainly not too little. In fact I'm ordering the kit again as it was that good. It's fun to brew something you know the President and his staff are drinking, no matter what your political views! This brew is fantastic! (Posted on 11/15/12)
nice Review by Tim
Rating
I brewed this about a month and a half ago. Kegged it like I do most of my brew. It was pretty tasty the day that I kegged it, but sipping on a glass tonight, it seems to be even better. The honey definitely plays a big part in its overall flavor. Seems to add texture, and maybe a little honey sweetness. It's not as dry as I thought it would be, and is chock full of flavor, including toffee, biscuit, honey, and fruity notes. Congrats, Obama, on winning another 4 years, and for this very tasty honey ale. (Posted on 11/11/12)
Great beer Review by Tomas
Rating
Beer turned out great. I tasted after 6 weeks (2 weeks each for primary, secondary and bottles). I chilled for 24 hours. The carbonation was spot on. A strong beer with lots of flavors. (Posted on 11/5/12)
Super flavor Review by Brian
Rating
Great tasting beer with a distinct flavor . Will be making another batch really soon. (Posted on 11/4/12)
Amazingly easy to brew! Review by Paul
Rating
I'm a real novice at brewing so when I tasted this batch, I was pleasantly surprised how tasty it was. The recipe and instructions were easy to follow and the results - outstanding!

I'm a novice brewer and I approved this message! (Posted on 11/4/12)

Items 41 to 50 of 52 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register