Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Ale Beer Kit

SKU: U0900
Rating
49 Review(s)

Ale to the Chief! This original recipe, first customized and brewed by the White House kitchen staff, is now available by popular demand as a Northern Brewer kit. Built on a big foundation of malt with strong tones of biscuit and toffee, the Honey Ale plays up the fruity, caramel aspects of English malt and yeast. But much like the Founding Fathers would have spiced up traditional style ales with homegrown ingredients, a late addition of pure honey adds a revolutionary twist. Declare your independence from mediocre beers with this historic White House Homebrew!

Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Ale Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 41 to 49 of 49 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Delicious! Similar to Raison d'Etre Review by GA Beer Nut
Rating
Very good beer and I was surprised to find that it's high-gravity (~7%). To me, it tastes similar to Raison d'Etre, but not as heavy. I think it's more "accessible" and "drinkable" for people than Raison d'Etre, which is one of my favorite beers. (Posted on 1/3/13)
One of the best extract kits! Review by Mark
Rating
I have been brewing extract kits for a few years now, and this one is one of the best. My girlfriend was begging me to make another batch of it. (Posted on 12/10/12)
Believe the hype! Review by Daniel
Rating
This beer really is as good (or better) as all the hype. Yes, it's a "White House" brew, so that in and of itself is intriguing, but I must say, everyone I've shared this with (mostly the wife and I, but several friends too) have been very, very impressed. The flavors jump out at you, but it's the perfect amount--not too much, certainly not too little. In fact I'm ordering the kit again as it was that good. It's fun to brew something you know the President and his staff are drinking, no matter what your political views! This brew is fantastic! (Posted on 11/15/12)
nice Review by Tim
Rating
I brewed this about a month and a half ago. Kegged it like I do most of my brew. It was pretty tasty the day that I kegged it, but sipping on a glass tonight, it seems to be even better. The honey definitely plays a big part in its overall flavor. Seems to add texture, and maybe a little honey sweetness. It's not as dry as I thought it would be, and is chock full of flavor, including toffee, biscuit, honey, and fruity notes. Congrats, Obama, on winning another 4 years, and for this very tasty honey ale. (Posted on 11/11/12)
Great beer Review by Tomas
Rating
Beer turned out great. I tasted after 6 weeks (2 weeks each for primary, secondary and bottles). I chilled for 24 hours. The carbonation was spot on. A strong beer with lots of flavors. (Posted on 11/5/12)
Super flavor Review by Brian
Rating
Great tasting beer with a distinct flavor . Will be making another batch really soon. (Posted on 11/4/12)
Amazingly easy to brew! Review by Paul
Rating
I'm a real novice at brewing so when I tasted this batch, I was pleasantly surprised how tasty it was. The recipe and instructions were easy to follow and the results - outstanding!

I'm a novice brewer and I approved this message! (Posted on 11/4/12)
Excellent beer Review by blackring brewery
Rating
This beer was very good the flavor was excellent. The beer tasted like most brown ales with it own distinct flavors. The honey and fuggle hops really add to this beer. Very smooth beer that has a nice 6.83% abv. Drank with my buddies and they didn't stop filling their glasses until the keg was empty. I used the liquid wyeast starter in which the wort started fermenting really quick and strong. I will order this kit again. (Posted on 10/26/12)
Excellent Review by Axel Foley
Rating
This is definitely a good'un! Very distinct flavors that really doesn't remind me of anything else I have ever had. Super tasty and leaves you wanting another cool glass. The description says biscuit and toffee, maybe that's what I'm tasting, but when I asked a friend their take on the flavor they just said "it's fu***** delicious!" I went with the dry yeast; quick rehydrate and in they went. Fermentation started fast and finished in about 3-5 days. Due to my keg rotation it went into a secondary for a few weeks and ended up with a nice clear beer. Prost! (Posted on 10/25/12)

Items 41 to 49 of 49 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register