Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

SKU: U0910
Rating
55 Review(s)

This original recipe brewed by White House staff is both a callback to the favored beverage of our Founding Fathers as well as an opportunity to come together in an election year and share pints across the aisle. More than just simply black and roasty, this porter builds consensus with generous applications of sweet caramel and toasty Munich malts, while moderate bitterness and a pound of honey lets us all find common ground. In a year of divisive politics, we think it’s especially important to remember what we have in common: homebrewing!

White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 55 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
ExcellentPorter! Review by Jim
Rating
This has been by far the most popular of my four NB kits to date - everyone who has tried it has been very, very impressed. I've had multiple requests to brew more, and my second kit has been ordered!
Three weeks in primary, two in secondary. It took three weeks to fully carbonate at ~67F. Very good at that point, and has only improved with more bottle time. Recommended. (Posted on 3/18/15)
Just Okay Review by Brandon
Rating
I doubled the honey on brew day as a lot of people suggested on here. The beer turned out to be nothing special. It was drinkable, but does not compare to other brew kits.

Maybe using the normal amount of honey would have been a better idea... (Posted on 1/10/15)
On to Secondary! Review by Etherman
Rating
Brew went well and added R.O. Water after boil to OG 1.054 and pH 5.68 Honey and Malt at 60 min. Now two weeks in primary, today racked to Secondary with S.G. 1.010. Plan on two more weeks then racking to Corny Keg conditioning for 3 more weeks. F.G. Should be 1.015 to 1.010. (Posted on 8/30/14)
Not bad Review by Andrew
Rating
The only other honey beer I've had is Leinenkugel's Honey Weiss, so I was expecting more of the honey flavor to come through. It's also a bit hoppier than I expected for a porter. If I brew it again, I'd definitely follow the suggestion of doubling or tripling the honey. However, it's been 2 weeks since bottling and it's significantly better than it was 4 days ago. I may change my mind in a week or so based on how much it's improved so far. 3.5 as it is right now, but a prospective 4 stars just because I have hope for it. (Posted on 2/7/14)
Has a wonderful taste and a great hoppy finish. Review by Christopher
Rating
I have brewed this kit and just ordered another! It gets better with time. (Posted on 2/7/14)
Another winner Review by Tony
Rating
Stouts and porters are my favorites and this kit did not disappoint. Hearty and heavy like a porter should be but with a nice hoppy aroma and a little spicy kick to it. Would definitely brew this one again! (Posted on 1/27/14)
Excellent Review by Rob
Rating
I've been brewing ciders for many years now, but this was my first attempt at a proper beer. I used a Wyeast smack pack, and was very happy with the results.
I'll definitely be brewing this again at some point, though I will probably add more honey next time, as I tend to favor higher gravities. If I decide to get really crazy, I may even try to oak it. (Posted on 1/2/14)
More Honey Review by Chris
Rating
After reading reviews that said to add more honey I decided to do just that and put in an additional 3 lbs. I tried taking a reading before bottling but got frustrated with it and decided it didn't matter to me anyway so not sure what final was. I had it in the primary for 10 days and secondary for 2 weeks before bottling. I didn't pop the top on one for 2 weeks and it was pretty darn good. So far it has just been getting better as the weeks go by and my brewing buddies are saying its top notch. I will definitely be doing another. (Posted on 12/18/13)
Awesome A+ Porter Review by KDG Brewer
Rating
I made this the first time last winter and went down good and smooth. Easy going on the palate. I ordered another recently and getting ready for keggin' action soon. I prefer to mostly do All Grain recipes but this one is soooo good and easy, its a nice treat to make and a pleasant recipe to get back to my brewing roots! (Posted on 12/11/13)
Awesome Review by Benjamin
Rating
This is a really good kit. I some how failed to realize that this recipe is from the White House. Made a really good porter that my friends love. Currently it is bottle conditioning, but from what I have tasted so far it is great. Got an FG of 1.010 (Posted on 12/11/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 55 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register