Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

SKU: U0910
Rating
55 Review(s)

This original recipe brewed by White House staff is both a callback to the favored beverage of our Founding Fathers as well as an opportunity to come together in an election year and share pints across the aisle. More than just simply black and roasty, this porter builds consensus with generous applications of sweet caramel and toasty Munich malts, while moderate bitterness and a pound of honey lets us all find common ground. In a year of divisive politics, we think it’s especially important to remember what we have in common: homebrewing!

White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 55 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
A hit at the office Review by Klinton
Rating
This was my first homebrew batch ever and I could not have been more pleased. Smooth, easy to drink but full of great flavor. My wife even loved it and she prefers Bud Light. It was so good I had to take it to the office and share. It didn't last long so it looks like I will have to brew another batch! (Posted on 11/27/13)
Great Porter! Review by Sean
Rating
I have tried 3 or 4 different porter kits from various brewing supply stores. This one is my favorite. Less bitterness in this one. I added a little coffee to the brew also, and it was very tasty. (Posted on 11/26/13)
Excellent Review by Steve
Rating
Follow the instructions and this brew will turn out great for you. I've only been doing this for a couple of years so I've only brewed a dozen different beers so far but this is easily in the top three. I will be brewing this one annually. (Posted on 11/9/13)
Great Porter! Review by Joel
Rating
Great beer, well balanced, slightly smoky and sweet. I have had honey porters before that have a very alcohol-ish taste because of the honey, this one is not like that. Very smooth. The more time in the bottle the better! (Posted on 10/23/13)
Smooth as silk Review by Patrick
Rating
I brewed this batch on St. Patricks day. Just drank last bottle ten minutes ago. Last one better than the first. This beer just gets better and better. Smooth and silky. May up the honey on the next one to see what happens. Friends, brewers, patriots I implore you to add this one to your rotation. You will not be disappointed. (Posted on 10/15/13)
Great brew Review by Jamaal
Rating
This was my first attempt at brewing, I was given a 1gal kit as a gift. The instructions were easy to follow and the beer came out great... It also got rave reviews from my friends and family... Great brew! (Posted on 10/12/13)
Absolutely Amazing! Review by Tim
Rating
Used the liquid yeast option, and it turned out absolutely amazing! I gave some to my neighbor and some to a friend as a wedding present. Everyone wanted more, including myself as I ran out waaaay too quickly. (Posted on 9/24/13)
Patience is a virtue Review by CO Brewer
Rating
Agree with other brewers about waiting on this one- I left in primary for 1.5 weeks, secondary for almost a month, and bottled for a while before drinking. The wait was definitely worth it. The honey really adds some nice notes to this one. (Posted on 9/13/13)
My Wife's New Favorite! Review by Kyle
Rating
My life loves dark beers. (Am I a lucky guy, or what?!!?) She has LOVED every stout or porter I have brewed, but she REALLY LOVES this one. Smooth, rich, satisfying -- a great brew. (Posted on 9/10/13)
Excellent. Review by Christopher
Rating
I brewed this kit pretty much as instructed. I did wait to add honey until 20 minutes were left in the boil. I also bottled using honey instead of corn sugar. I find it adds a nice dry finish to honey beers...Anyway, I this beer turned out excellent. I've had light beer drinkers said they were surprised at how flavorful and drinkable this beer is. (1 week primary, 2 weeks secondary, 4 weeks bottle conditioned) I recommend this beer highly! Thanks! (Posted on 8/29/13)

Items 11 to 20 of 55 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register