Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

SKU: U0910
Rating
53 Review(s)

This original recipe brewed by White House staff is both a callback to the favored beverage of our Founding Fathers as well as an opportunity to come together in an election year and share pints across the aisle. More than just simply black and roasty, this porter builds consensus with generous applications of sweet caramel and toasty Munich malts, while moderate bitterness and a pound of honey lets us all find common ground. In a year of divisive politics, we think it’s especially important to remember what we have in common: homebrewing!

White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 53 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
Second time Review by Rob
Rating
This is the second time around I am brewing this as I enjoyed it so much the first time around. Yes I do recommend this kit! (Posted on 7/26/13)
GREAT!!! Review by Alex
Rating
1st Homebrew. Easy Instructions and fantastic beer. Everyone loved it. (Posted on 7/23/13)
Over carbed, but still great! Review by Kevin
Rating
This was my second adventure into homebrewing and I'd say it came out great even if I've been seeing consistant over carbonation of the bottles. Next time I'll pull back on the priming sugar just a touch; maybe 3 oz instead of the full 5.

If I can make a recommendation to NB on this one. I would ship two muslin bags with this one due to the sheer amount of steeping grains for the start of the brew. That much just doesn't fit into one bag.

Agree with everyone about this one getting better with time. The flavors seem to just take a bit of time coming together, but its complex and wonderful! I may not like ANY of our Politicians...but I'll say our President picked someone who can brew some beer! (Posted on 6/15/13)
Popular Review by Cabin_Jim
Rating
I've brewed this kit twice - substituting local honey from Luray, Virginia, and adding some locally grown US Fuggle hops at the end of the boil. It is very popular with friends and co-workers...I'm going to make it my signature brew, with the mods. (Posted on 4/28/13)
Great extract beer Review by OxfordHomebrewersClub
Rating
Brewed this a couple months ago and have been drinking on it slowly. Incredibly smooth with great drinkability. Bottled into 160z Grolsch, 12oz bottle, and bombers, all with consistent carbing and flavor from 3oz priming sugar into a 5gal batch.

This is a GREAT beer to brew when its just too cold outside, and an overall bang-up kit beer. Ordering more even though I brew AG almost exclusively. (Posted on 3/3/13)
better if you wait....... Review by paul
Rating
initially i was a little disappointed after 1 week in the bottle. but after 3 or 4 weeks, WOW what a difference. very drinkable. now i want all the bottles back that i handed out to friends and co-workers. or i could just make more. (Posted on 3/2/13)
"Smoother than Guiness" Review by Kevanyon
Rating
I brewed this beer as my Christmas gift brew for friends and family. Actually had one of them tell me that it was, and I quote, "smoother than Guiness" I took that as a compliment and will brew this one again. (Posted on 1/30/13)
Excellent Porter Review by Fly Guy in VA
Rating
This is a very tasty and popular beer with my friends. Am currently got the second batch in my secondary and am brewing the White House Honey Ale this weekend. Our first batch of porter came out a bit foamy, but I think I overdid the sugar for bottle carbonation. Won't make that mistake again. Seems to get better with age, but after a month our supply ran out. Out of the 10-12 recipes I've tried, this is in the top 2-3. Will definitely enjoy this in the future. (Posted on 1/25/13)
Good porter, carb/cond problems Review by Sean
Rating
The beer itself was pretty awesome, a lot of people commented on how much they liked it. My only complaint is that even after 3 weeks in the bottle it wasn't as carbed as I expected it to be.

However, that's just a note for next time; I'll use a touch more priming sugar. (Posted on 1/24/13)
Yum! Review by Brian
Rating
It's been years since I did an extract brew, but with winter in full gear here in WI, I decided to simplify my brew day with this kit. I am quite pleased! This beer is currently going fast from my kegerator. It's a very nice porter, with just a hint of honey on the nose and finish. (Posted on 1/11/13)

Items 21 to 30 of 53 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register