Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

SKU: U0910
Rating
53 Review(s)

This original recipe brewed by White House staff is both a callback to the favored beverage of our Founding Fathers as well as an opportunity to come together in an election year and share pints across the aisle. More than just simply black and roasty, this porter builds consensus with generous applications of sweet caramel and toasty Munich malts, while moderate bitterness and a pound of honey lets us all find common ground. In a year of divisive politics, we think it’s especially important to remember what we have in common: homebrewing!

White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 31 to 40 of 53 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
Gets better as it ages Review by Matthew
Rating
I brewed this a few weeks before Christmas to have it ready for Christmas. It fermented for a solid week, then transferred to my secondary after 10 days and kept there for 11 more. Bottled and opened the first one after a week and carbonation was ok but not ready yet. Now it is three weeks in bottle an each one gets better than the last. Nice mild flavor without the heavy feeling on most porters. Maybe my second favorite beer (out of 10) that I have made from a kit. (Posted on 1/6/13)
Worth the next four years! Review by imaboutin
Rating
My new favorite brew. Until now I have stuck with the American wheat but as long as this is available I'll brew each to keep on hand. Spent 7 days in Primary and 8 in secondary, turned out awesome. Bought a turkey fryer to use as a brewer, let me tell you it speeds the brewing process and at $45 probably the best purchase I've made in years! Back to the beer, brew it... (Posted on 12/20/12)
Just isn't that good Review by Terrance
Rating
I have read the other reviews, and I have to scratch my head... this beer is ok. It's just ok, there is nothing special, it isn't amazingly flavorful, the hops aren't overly present, its moderate in the textbook definition of the word. If that is your thing, great!

It's drinkable, I give it to my friends who don't really care about good beer, and they think it's good beer. (Posted on 12/20/12)
Big hit at Holiday party Review by Tristan
Rating
I brewed this guy at the beginning of October, let it sit 2 weeks in Primary and a 4 weeks in Secondary (I know, it seemed long) but WOW did this come out great. 2 tips- use a yeast activator with the Wyeast pack that they provide, and add an extra pound of honey at the end of the boil. The honey taste really popped out at the start and it has a fantastic finish. I'll be buying this one again (Posted on 12/17/12)
Smooth porter Review by Coulee Brewer
Rating
Just bottled this one and can hardly wait for the real day of enjoying. Nice, smooth aroma and taste. The honey seems to hold the attention all the way through, but does not stand in the way of the grain and hops. Hops seem to cut down the sweet taste nicely adding the right amount of bitter to offset. (Posted on 12/11/12)
a bit sweet Review by Chris
Rating
i think that if i used the wyeast option, it would have been a four star instead of three, nottingham has a bad aftertaste in my opinion. overall thouigh, a good beer. malty, correct mouthfeel, but just too sweet. maybe some more time in the fermenter would have helped, but it says four weeks to be ready so i trusted that. (Posted on 12/11/12)
First brew - getting better with time Review by Mike
Rating
After years of watching from the sidelines, this recipe is what made me take the plunge into homebrewing. I wasn't too adventurous, and followed the directions to a tee. 1 week in primary, 1 week in secondary, and then I kegged it. When I first sampled it (too early), both my wife and I noticed a strong copper/metallic flavor (the hops?). This flavor has definitely mellowed out over the past several weeks. I shared some with one of my contractors today, and he said it was one of the best beers he has ever had (he had already been paid).

This one will definitely make its way into the rotation, but it may be a while before I get the others on my wish list out of the way. This hobby is addicting (and delicious)!

(Posted on 12/9/12)
The jury's still out Review by Mistakes were made
Rating
I just racked to secondary. O.G was 0.54 and 0.10 at secondary - seems right. It tastes like a very good ale at this point but it just doesn't taste like a porter?? Maybe 10 days in secondary and then kegging will kick it in. Did anyone else have this experience?? I hope to change the rating when all is said and done. Based on other reviews, I've had high hopes for this brew. (Posted on 12/6/12)
I vote YES for this beer Review by Rob
Rating
I just bottled my beer but of course filling my glass and tasting it to see how it turned out before carbonation. The results of the vote, yum! When brewing I thought there would be too much honey, nope it tastes nice and smooth with just the right amount of honey. I can’t wait for the bottles to carbonate now!

My OG was spot on 1.054 and FG was 1.010. While brewing the smells were fantastic! The color of the beer is beautiful!

I recommend this beer and will be brewing this one again.
(Posted on 11/25/12)
Yum Review by Jerred
Rating
I haven't had the finished product yet but as I was bottling this weekend the FLAT beer was AWESOME! Cannot wait for the final brew in a couple weeks!
(Posted on 11/22/12)

Items 31 to 40 of 53 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register