Northern Brewer’s White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

SKU: U0910
Rating
52 Review(s)

This original recipe brewed by White House staff is both a callback to the favored beverage of our Founding Fathers as well as an opportunity to come together in an election year and share pints across the aisle. More than just simply black and roasty, this porter builds consensus with generous applications of sweet caramel and toasty Munich malts, while moderate bitterness and a pound of honey lets us all find common ground. In a year of divisive politics, we think it’s especially important to remember what we have in common: homebrewing!

White House Honey Porter Beer Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 41 to 50 of 52 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
Quick, easy, tasted great! Review by Jason
Rating
I'm glad I chose this as my first beer. It was super easy to make and was thoroughly enjoyed by me and all of my friends who were lucky enough to get some before it was gone. (Posted on 11/17/12)
My favorite porter Review by Greg
Rating
I didn't know what to expect from this one, but it's already a hit. The first night we tapped the keg, the wife must have had five pints. Creamy head, nice roasted flavor and just enough hop flourish to keep it interesting. (Posted on 11/15/12)
Good drinkable beer Review by B S
Rating
Brewed up a batch of this for our election party. Primary for 2 weeks, secondary for 1, kegged at 35psi for two days, then dropped to serving temp.
Great taste, consistency and everyone loved it.
Used a Whyeast smack pack, activated and let it sit for 5 hours. Primary came out to 1.051, and final perfect. It's a little sweet for some folks, but that was just a tasting preference. Overall a top notch beer, thinking of getting another on the 15% sale. (Posted on 11/15/12)
I need to brew more! Review by Triple Threat Rancher
Rating
I made this to drink on election night, and had a hard time not drinking it all up before then! Porter is my favorite style of beer and this is one of the best porters I have ever tasted. Far better than those at my local brew pubs. I found it to be very ballanced with a clean dry finish. It has such a nice chocolatey nose. I still have a 12 pack I am trying to save for my birthday next week if I can hold out! If you like porter, you will love this beer. (Posted on 11/10/12)
Very Impressive Porter! Review by Stephen B.
Rating
I used a different honey than the one in the kit, mine had a leak on the way to Phoenix. Not an alteration from the original, since I did not have any honey made from Cherry Tree blossoms that line the Mall in DC in the kit in the first place. I used a raw unfiltered local honey from Black Canyon City, that was made from wild desert mountain flowers. It was very very dark and tasted like molases ....... it worked great. I did alter the hop additions, I could not see useing only half of the once of Hallertau when I had the other half left over. I used the other half for a flavoring addition, started at the 22 minute mark and then just slowly put some in every minute untill the 4 minute mark. OG was 1.062 and FG was 1.010 I am drinking them now after a month from the original brew day. This beer is the first beer I have made that I would put against any store bought porter .......it is that good! If you like Sam Adams "Holliday Porter" ..... this one compairs!.... I am going to try this with an all grain batch next time, Cant wait to have a few November 6th 2012. (Posted on 10/30/12)
Just bottled - smells like heaven! Review by Fly Guy in VA
Rating
The next two weeks will be long as I await the first taste of the White House Honey Porter. I started to put the ingredients together as soon as the recipe hit the street and before I could order, NB comes out with the kit. No brainer, as I love the NB kits. Brewing this dark rich batch was enticing, with the giant 3 lb grain bag. Racking into the secondary was the second reminder of how good this is going to be. Bottling is the final tease before the main event. Can't wait. I'm reserving the fifth star for the actual tasting, but I have little doubt this one is a winner. I've done several batches of mead, so I have a soft spot in my heart for honey beers. (Posted on 10/26/12)
initial thoughts as I rack to the secondary Review by Roger C
Rating
This seems like it will be a very good beer, although I reserve the right to update my review after getting it into the bottle. My OG was right on the money at 1.054. I did not use a yeast starter on this and had great fermentation action within 12 hours. The krausen layer fell back into the beer and all signs of fermentation were gone in about 6 days. Now its in the secondary. This is dark with a nice malty, roasty aroma. The honey is a nice delicate flavor note, although I wonder if it might get lost in the carbonation after conditioning? I will let you know. Regardless, this is a good brew so far and I look forward to the truly finished product. (Posted on 10/24/12)
First Glass this evening Review by John
Rating
A very smooth and creamy brew. Nice flavor, fast and easy to make. (Posted on 10/18/12)
Happy Burbling! Review by Ken
Rating
I brewed this on Sunday, and did add 1-lb of DME. The O.G. came up to 1.064 and is happily burbling away in the cozy confines of its brewing blanket. It is burbling happily away with its brother the Holiday Brickwarmer Red. Will be taking those two on a holiday tour for Thanksgiving. (Posted on 10/16/12)
Where is the lb.? Review by Ken
Rating
I read the review by Harrison and I can't find a lb. of light dry malt extract. Although I am thinking of adding it to up the ABV there is no room in the kit box for an additional lb. of anything. Will be brewing this on this upoming Sunday!
Cheers! (Posted on 10/13/12)

Items 41 to 50 of 52 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register