Black IPA 1 Gallon Recipe Kit

SKU: 1G08
Rating
33 Review(s)

Your inner cynic says: "Wait, wait ... isn't this just an Imperial Stout?" Well, let's answer your inner cynic's question with another question: "Isn't a Dunkelweizen just a darker, maltier Hefeweizen?" The answer is both yes and no. There you go, inner cynic. Incubated in West Coast craft breweries and brewpubs (the same folks who brought you American Pale Ale, American Amber Ale, and Imperial IPA – they weren't always established styles, either!), these hefty concoctions throw all pretense at subtlety right out the window.

Full-bodied, hop-bitter, and boozy, this beer is compelling enough to both fuel and quash the argument of its stylistic integrity, and it goes great with a blue-cheese stuffed sirloin burger or steak.

Black IPA - 1 Gallon Small Batch Beer Recipe Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Another IPA convert Review by Tony
Rating
I'm not much of a hophead, but the style is growing on me. Thought I'd try this batch to marry a dark beer (which I love) with IPA bitterness and hop aroma. I must say I'm impressed with the result. The only disappointment is that I only made one gallon! I look forward to brewing this again. (Posted on 8/18/14)
Best Beer So Far Review by Wayne
Rating
This was my third beer and my best brew by far. Popped my first bottle open after 3 weeks in fermentation and 3 in the bottle. Good head with nice lacing and a very good taste. Looking forward to letting this go for a while longer and seeing what it becomes. I'll definitely be brewing this one again. (Posted on 6/26/14)
Excellent, even when flat... Review by Chad
Rating
I have just cracked a bottle of this open after having it bottle-conditioning for a week. It gave off just the faintest of "tsst". It hasn't fully carbed yet but it's still REALLY good and has a great taste. I am thoroughly pleased with this brew and look forward to drinking it again after it has had time to fully carbonate.
It goes great with plain Vanilla Ice Cream by the way... (Posted on 6/6/14)
Best beer I have made to date Review by Smokey
Rating
This is my 5th and best batch it is very smooth and very delicious I cannot believe I made this, easily compares to $8 22oz I get at the beer distributor (Posted on 3/29/14)
This one gets better and better. Be patient after bottling! Review by Jay
Rating
For me, the difference here is more time to mellow out in the bottle. Today (3/9/14, bottled on 2/11/13) is is a real winner: a complete taste, smooth hops, not at all overpowering. This one is a sure bet for a full-scale five gallon batch. Raising my rating to 5 stars. (Posted on 3/9/14)
Confession from a Non-Hophead Review by Vaughn
Rating
Fairly new to homebrewing; I've done a handful of 1 gal. kits to get my feet wet and try some different styles. I prefer porters and stouts and normally steer clear of anything with "IPA" in the name since I don't like overly bitter beers.

I figured I'd give this one a try since it was only a gallon and I had nothing to lose. I must say it was a beer epiphany for me. A fantastic beer with a malty backbone that's hop-forward but in a good way; citrus and pine envelop with a hint of bitterness.

Opened my eyes to what an IPA can be and opened my pallette. Can't wait to brew this in a 5-gal. and eventually in All-Grain. (Posted on 3/9/14)
Amazing so far Review by Trevor
Rating
This was my first beer kit. The process was a blast, and only after 4 days of bottle conditioning, I decided to test one and see how the carbonation was going. It tastes amaing. Needs more carbonation of course, but its wonderful. (Posted on 2/26/14)
Most consistent recipe Review by Dan
Rating
This one has turned out great every time in a 1 gallon format. I usually allow for 3-4 week fermentation (our house is about 62 degrees) and 2-3 weeks for bottle conditioning. It tastes ideal around 3 weeks. Nice CDA/Black IPA. (Posted on 2/14/14)
Interesting! Review by Nathan
Rating
I like it! Tastes like an heavily hopped porter to me... Very unique. Might have to execute the AG version. (Posted on 2/8/14)
Look great so far Review by Omar
Rating
Beer is brewing at the moment but look great so far. I will update when it's done. (Posted on 1/14/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register