Black IPA 1 Gallon Recipe Kit

SKU: 1G08
Rating
32 Review(s)

Your inner cynic says: "Wait, wait ... isn't this just an Imperial Stout?" Well, let's answer your inner cynic's question with another question: "Isn't a Dunkelweizen just a darker, maltier Hefeweizen?" The answer is both yes and no. There you go, inner cynic. Incubated in West Coast craft breweries and brewpubs (the same folks who brought you American Pale Ale, American Amber Ale, and Imperial IPA – they weren't always established styles, either!), these hefty concoctions throw all pretense at subtlety right out the window.

Full-bodied, hop-bitter, and boozy, this beer is compelling enough to both fuel and quash the argument of its stylistic integrity, and it goes great with a blue-cheese stuffed sirloin burger or steak.

Black IPA - 1 Gallon Small Batch Beer Recipe Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Great taste Review by Jay
Rating
My step father brewed this recipe and it tasted great so I had to try it. It had easy to follow directions, smelled great and I just bottled it now and can't wait for it to finish conditioning. (Posted on 1/14/14)
Best Beer I Have Made Yet Review by Michael
Rating
This was my 7th batch of beer. I brewed it in February, and between moving and life it ended up staying in the fermentor until the beginning of November. Three weeks of bottle conditioning, and I just cracked a couple open tonight. It is AMAZING! I'm going to be scaling this up to a couple of five gallon batches. I definitely suggest letting this one mature as long as you can stand it, because the way is totally worth it. (Posted on 12/1/13)
Great way to expand your palate Review by David
Rating
I have brewed this a couple of times. This is one of my favorite brews in the northern brewer catalog. I have been experimenting with this recipe by adding different fruit and coffee in secondary. (Posted on 11/23/13)
So far, so good Review by Jay
Rating
This was my first effort with a 1 gallon kit. The management of the siphoning and bottling process was more complicated than "normal," at least for me. Based on reading of earlier reviews, I've not sampled any of the 11 bottles that resulted. They have been bottled for over a week now, so I will update this in a week of so when I've sampled one. (Posted on 11/12/13)
Terrific beer! Review by Rob
Rating
This was my first Northern Brewer kit. I got my pot of water heating up and started pouring my specialty grains in the mesh bag when it ripped and spilled all over the kitchen. After much cussing, I called NB and they sent new grains and mesh bag to me. The recipe turned out great. One of my favorites. Being a one gallon kit, it only yielded 9 bottles. I had one every once and a while and they aged great. Recommend at least a month in bottle before trying. (Posted on 10/25/13)
Awesome Review by Dave
Rating
One our favorites! (Posted on 10/21/13)
Bottle condition Review by Bruce
Rating
I'd definitely let this one bottle condition for at least 4 weeks. It lost that stout flavor and found it's black ipa roots. Great beer N.B. (Posted on 9/28/13)
Decent brew Review by Bruce
Rating
Just tried this beer after letting it condition for 2 weeks. I agree with other reviewers that it does taste like a stout. Still a good beer, and look forward to trying another bottle in a couple more weeks. (Posted on 9/15/13)
Very similar to Stone's Sublimely Self-Rightous Review by Dan
Rating
This beer made my day and is my favorite home brew so far. Tons of flavor!!! (Posted on 9/15/13)
Great little Kit. Review by Wolf
Rating
For the brewer thats looking to explore IPA's. its a great little kit to get into playing with hops. the beer turned out smooth and hoppy and was a lot of fun to brew. (Posted on 9/8/13)

Items 11 to 20 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register