Chinook IPA 1 Gallon Recipe Kit

SKU: 1G09
Rating
12 Review(s)
This American IPA has a relatively modest gravity and an immodest hop character derived entirely from a single hop variety. Chinook hops have long been used by US brewers for bittering additions, but their intense aroma and flavor have caught on only recently.

Chinook IPA  - 1 Gallon Small Batch Beer Recipe Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Good IPA Review by Chaz
Rating
I've brewed the Chinook IPA more than any other small batch and I enjoy it very much & highly recommend it. I don't find the original recipe "hoppy" enough for me. But...

For more bitterness for the hop person... I alter the recipe slightly and thought I'd share.

I double the Chinook hops at the beginning boil, and extend the boiling process to 60 minutes instead of 45 minutes. I've brewed this so many times that I had a great feeling about it. Order some additional Chinook Hops, (Or grab some at your local store) I promise, you will love it! 5 Stars with or without my suggestion. (Posted on 8/9/14)
Easy kit Review by david
Rating
Decent IPA that was a little sweet for me and short on that hop bite I like. I thought about dry hopping it and regret not doing so. Very nice kit that was easy to use. (Posted on 6/13/14)
Not too bad Review by Will
Rating
Pretty good beer for my first kit from Northern Brewer. First off, I want to say that I started off on a Mr. Beer system, which, for those of you who don't know, is 2 gallons. I simply buy two one gallon kits, and it's cheaper (and better) then even the best Mr. Beer kits.

Easy to brew. Love Chinook hops. Next time, I'm definitely going to buy some extra Chinook to dry hop with, as I feel the aroma was lacking a bit on this beer. Made a mistake with the priming (didn't do carb drops) so this beer isn't living up to it's true potential. Doesn't detract from my score though. Get it and experiment! (Posted on 3/14/14)
Easy starter kit Review by Robert
Rating
This was my first 1 gallon recipe kit, and it was super easy to follow and complete. The brew had a higher FG than expected and was a bit sweet for my palate, but that's likely not the fault of the recipe kit. I'd be willing to make a chinook IPA again, but I want to make it all grain, since this recipe had a notable extract twang. Hopefully NB will start offering all grain 1 gallon kits (BIAB?) soon. (Posted on 2/16/14)
Nice, but a bit too fruity Review by Dan
Rating
Easy kit and an easy brew. Fermentation for 3 weeks and it tasted nice and fresh after 2 weeks of conditioning. Nice flavor but a little too smooth and fruity for my palate though it is a nice change up. I'm on the fence for a 3 or 4. Would love to see more IPA varieties, especially an Imperial IPA option from NB. (Posted on 2/14/14)
Great Brew Review by Mike
Rating
Easy kit to make. Good, easy drinking IPA. Was interesting with just the chinook hops. It really give you a good sense of all aspects of that particular hop. Would enjoy some more single hop IPA kits. (Posted on 1/12/14)
Good Brew Review by adam
Rating
This was my second brew and it was easy enough. The beer was delicious I wish I had more than 1 gallon. That's why I am moving up to a five gallon brew. (Posted on 1/9/14)
Friend favorite Review by James
Rating
Easy to brew with great instructions. 2nd time to brew this batch and it is first grabbed out of fridge. I need to upgrade to 5 gallon system to keep everybody supplied with great tasting beer. (Posted on 12/16/13)
5 star brew day Review by Daniel
Rating
I can only comment now on the brewing of this kit as I am yet to taste it( although taste should be great). The smaller volume made a faster boil this shortening my brew day which I liked... Instructions were clear and easy to follow... Ingredients all seemed to be of fresh, high quality... This was my first small gallon batch and I plan to use one gallon batches to scratch that brewing itch between larger brew days... :) (Posted on 9/20/13)
Nice. Review by John
Rating
Second batch of beer, very nice single hop IPA. I love IPA's this beer was an easy brew and tastes great. Only need two weeks in a fermenter and two weeks for bottle conditioning. (Posted on 8/16/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register