Mad Brewer™ Beer Testing Kit

SKU: 41064
Rating
14 Review(s)

For the Mad Scientist in you!

You’ll receive a complete set of instruments to test your beer’s specific gravity - a hydrometer, thief, and test jar - to let you keep close tabs on fermentation and calculate abv%. You’ll also get our favorite additives to help eliminate messy boilover and blowoff in the brewery and haze in the glass. Finally, a copy of John Palmer’s excellent How To Brew - required reading for every Mad Brewer.

Includes:

  • Hydrometer
  • Three-piece thief
  • Economy Test Jar
  • Fermcap-S
  • Biofine Clear
  • Whirlfloc Tablets (10 ct)
  • A copy of "How to Brew"
  • Raise Your Game Mad Brewer Upgrade Kit

    Customer Reviews

    Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

    per page
    Page:
    1. 1
    2. 2
    Great addition for new brewers Review by Mark
    Rating
    I started using fermcap-s after this was purchased for me. I now use it in all my starters and fermenting. (Posted on 12/13/14)
    I just need some instructions Review by Dustin
    Rating
    I like this product overall, and I think I'm using it right so far. It seems rather simple, but a small summary of what to do would have helped. Also, the additives have a fairly clear explanation of what to do with them on the bottles, but I'm not sure why I'm doing it yet. Perhaps I will find that info in the book, which is probably the best part of the kit. I'm learning so much, and I'm only half way through. This might be a better addition to the basic brew kit. (Posted on 3/31/14)
    Good kit, lacking directions Review by Hunter
    Rating
    The kit is a good purchase for the book alone! I agree with the other reviews that a few directions with the Biofine Clear would have helped. (Posted on 3/3/14)
    Awesome Starter Set Review by Larry
    Rating
    Hello brewers, great starter set. I enjoyed reading the book and continue to refer back to the book for ideas. The one thing I did not catch onto with the set, was one of the little brown bottles has to be refrigerated. I hope I did not ruin the item. Other than that, a great product to use and I like using the numbers to determine the outcome of the beer. The book is full of information and of how to get started and how to improve the brewing process. A great buy. Happy brewing. (Posted on 2/13/14)
    Great product Review by Jon
    Rating
    Great starter product for refining and testing your beer as well as a very nice resource for all of those questions you will have in the first few batches you brew. (Posted on 12/26/13)
    Nice Kit, Great Book Review by John
    Rating
    The book is a great resource for someone new to home brewing like myself. Would have been nice to have had some directions or explanation for all of the stuff in the kit. As a new homebrewer, I was confused about what to do with that stuff. (Posted on 11/25/13)
    Good idea to have Review by Shawn
    Rating
    The book is a great read, with the price alone everything else is a nice bonus. (Posted on 11/23/13)
    Great addition Review by Tim
    Rating
    This is a great addition to any of the homebrew kits. The book is highly informative and the included products come in very handy come brew time. (Posted on 10/17/13)
    The book is good, the thief leaks Review by Rick
    Rating
    The book is great, I've referred to my friend's copy for years but wanted my own copy. The thief leaks so you can only get a bit at a time, it still works though. (Posted on 10/3/13)
    Good Kit, Great Book Review by Gregory
    Rating
    Excellent book, very informative! Hydrometer, thief and test jar are what to expect. Although, information is provided in the book "How to Brew" for the fermcap, whirl floc and biofine, it would have been nice to have a one page summary on each product describing its usses. All in all glad I purchased.. (Posted on 9/5/13)

    Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

    per page
    Page:
    1. 1
    2. 2

    Write Your Own Review

    Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register