Bomber Barleywine 1 Gallon Recipe Kit

SKU: 1G14
Rating
17 Review(s)
Born of the classic California barley wine, the Bomber is ready to make an attack run on your taste buds. A big hit of citrusy American hops rides over rich caramelly malt and clean yeast character to deliver tons of flavor in a small package.

Bomber Barleywine  - 1 Gallon Small Batch Beer Recipe Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 17 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Great kit Review by Edward
Rating
I just bottled my second round of this strong brew. The first batch disappeared because of my friends. Even it calls for 4 weeks, I would say that waiting longer allows it to age better - there is an initial sweetness/maltiness at 4 weeks that mellows with aging - if you can keep it around that long! (Posted on 12/17/14)
Don't want to wait on a barleywine? This one's for you. Review by Tyler
Rating
Being a barleywine, I was expecting a bit of a wait, but 2 1/2 weeks after bottling I opened one up and was very pleasantly surprised! Great flavors and super-easy! (Posted on 10/26/14)
Rich flavor with a lot going on Review by Tony
Rating
This was my first barleywine and I didn't really know what to expect. It turned out to be sweet, bitter, fruity and very rich. Not sure I love the style yet, but it's definitely interesting. After three months in the bottle, it's fascinating to see different flavors come and go with time. (Posted on 9/24/14)
Re-review Review by Jesse
Rating
After second brewing of this,I added some oak chips that were soaked in whiskey and vanilla extract. Beer turned out amazing! Beer is a great value and an easy way to satisfy barley wine nutz if they need a quick fix. (Posted on 5/22/14)
Great Beer Review by Dustin
Rating
This beer is going to be put away until the temperatures drop, but I had to try one. It is delicious. I think I'm going to need to do a 5-gallon batch of this.
I made this just as the directions said. The one change I made was using a secondary fermenter. I had 2 weeks in the primary and 2 in the secondary and 2 in the bottle conditioning. I used fizz drops. There was a decent head which disipated quickly. The flavor was exactly as I expected it to be. I've only had a couple barley wines in the past, but I would compare this with them. (Posted on 5/5/14)
Easy. Excellent. Review by Karl
Rating
Following the directions is so easy.

I made two separate one-gallon batches a week apart.

I altered the hop additions and fermentation protocol a bit for each batch.

After two weeks in primary for the first batch and a week in primary for the second batch, I combined them into 2ndary for a day and then added 1.0 oz of Centennial pellets for 8 days.

After two weeks bottle conditioning at 70 F the carbonation was enough to form a nice head.

Tasted as awesome as Doggie Claws in a side-by-side… WOW!!! Fruity, floral, bitter, sweet, smooth, clean, huge.

I don't know the ABV but I am guestimating it to be around 10% or more based on how good it made me feel.

Next time I'll dry hop for 14 days. (Posted on 5/2/14)
I'm going to start brewing 5 gallons because of the Barleywine! Review by tomatokilla
Rating
This is the best batch I have made yet, not that I had anything to do with the quality, but that this is the best beer I have had the pleasure of brewing thus far. It's creamy and delicious and I am definitely going to get some more. I did a batch of Honey Country and some others from another home-brew company, nothing compares to the Bomber Barleywine so far....! Thanks Northern Brewer, I think I'm going to upgrade in order to start some 5 gallon operations just because of the Barleywine! (Posted on 4/26/14)
Great beer and Easy to brew Review by Josh
Rating
Loved the flavor and body of this Barleywine ale. I will do this one again as a 5 glln batch.

Good job NB! :-) (Posted on 4/21/14)
BIG brew; needs a lot of time; worth the wait Review by Jason
Rating
Brewed this one in early fall expecting an early winter warm-up brew for after Thanksgiving. The brew went well and fermentation started off quickly, but hung around for more than three weeks (~68 degrees fermentation temp). Finally after four weeks, krausen started to drop. After another week, bottled and expected to taste bubbly beer after a week. Opened a re-capped three weeks in a row. After four weeks in bottles, it finally showed signs of carbonating. I was able to begin enjoying this brew after Christmas, but it was worth the wait. It's just the nature of big, full, high ABV, high gravity brews. There is a similar 5-gallon kit that NB offers, and I am considering taking this on in late summer, now tat I have increased my fermentation capacity a bit. Try this one out, you won't be disappointed.
Brew on! (Posted on 3/16/14)
Not bad considering Review by Hehaw brew
Rating
I love barley wine. I do AG brewing but wanted to try this out since my AG BW needs at least another 6 months to condition. Easy as pie to make. The flavor is not super complex, but an easy and affordable way to get a BW fix! Like an other reviewer said, I think a vanilla bean and some whiskey soaked woods chips will class this up a bit! 4 stars for easy process and price. 3 stars for taste. (Posted on 3/16/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 17 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register