West Coast Radical Red 1 Gallon Recipe Kit

SKU: 1G13
Rating
13 Review(s)
West Coast-style amber/red ales have been mainstays of the craft beer revolution for a while. Our version uses an extra-loaded caramelly base, and piles on the fruity West coast hops.

West Coast Radical Red  - 1 Gallon Small Batch Beer Recipe Kit

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Excellent Brew Review by Lou Dog
Rating
Give this one a shot, I will definitely brew this one again. You won't be disappointed. (Posted on 8/25/14)
Average Red, Not Radical Review by Vaughn
Rating
A decent red ale with some bitterness; very little aroma hoppiness or hop-forwardness at the finish. (Posted on 4/27/14)
I could drink this often Review by Dustin
Rating
I conditioned this beer for 12 days and decided to give it a try. This beer has a great flavor, just a little bit bitter and wonderful citrus hop taste. I am going to have to buy this again. NB really should make a 5 gallon kit of this one. (Posted on 4/7/14)
Interesting Review by Dustin
Rating
My wife and I both enjoyed the first bottle we opened. I brewed and left in the primary for 2 weeks. I then conditioned for 11 days. This has the characteristics of an IPA and a traditional Irish Red. There is also a hint of citrus flavor. There was excellent, but short-lived, head. I could drink this beer often. (Posted on 4/5/14)
Excellent Review by Corey
Rating
After 3 years of trying to get my wife away from the commercial beers and into something that I can drink, this was the beer that did it! I'm typically an IPA drinker and I couldn't resist the idea of doing a Red Ale with that hoppy back-end that you get with an IPA. Both she and I loved this and I'll be doing this beer regularly. The only disappointment with this beer is that the kit only made 1 gallon! NB should definitely put this together for a 5 gallon batch. Trust me, you will drink this early and often. (Posted on 2/6/14)
Nice Variation of a Red Ale Review by Bob
Rating
I just opened my second bottle from the 1 gallon batch after 13 days conditioning. One week in primary, then racked to secondary for another week.

Finished product was a nice surprise for me. It had some of the smooth characteristics of an Irish Red, with a more pronounced hoppiness, and citrus/grapefruit finish. Moderate cloudiness and short lived head, but overall a great beer.

Perfect beer to enjoy enjoying while grilling with some friends. (Posted on 1/22/14)
Got this as a gift Review by Matt
Rating
I bought this as a gift for my cousin. I only brewed one gallon of this and gave it all to him. He really liked it, I still have yet to try the bottle I saved for myself. (Posted on 1/7/14)
A Red to be excited about Review by jared
Rating
Smelled great during brewing and tastes even better. Very drinkable red w/a hop-forward aroma/finish. Not too bitter and just right. Cascade at the end gives it a great grapefruity smell/taste! (Posted on 12/23/13)
Nice Hoppy Ale, but Maybe the Wrong Yeast Review by Sachin
Rating
The recipe is solid, but I would use US-05 next time. I fermented for two weeks, bottle conditioned for four weeks. The final beer has nice, multi-layered hop bitterness, and excellent (but not long-lasting) head, but little aroma. It lost some of the malt balance due to over-attenuation.

Ultimately, I could drink this beer daily.

However, I am not happy with the BRY-97 yeast, which is supposed to be a "Chico strain", i.e. derived from Sierra Nevada Pal Ale. I weighed the yeast on a jeweler's scale, rehydrated it properly per instructions, and pitched at 65°F. I fermented at a consistent 67°F. The yeast was a little slow to take off, but there were great hop and estery aromas during fermentation. By bottling time, the yeast flocculated well - as well as US-05 and Nottingham Ale Yeast - forming a very compact layer, but there was still a lot of cloudiness in suspension. I recommend cold crashing this yeast, which I failed to do. Unfortunately, the yeast had attenuated at around 80% and stripped away all of the aroma and some of the bitterness.

The info sheet on the yeast says "It may tend, because of flocculation, to slightly reduce hop bitter levels". I definitely experienced this, along with scavenging of all aromas. I didn't get any of the estery-ness that is supposed to set this yeast apart from US-05.

Anyway, it is a nice recipe, but I would include US-05 instead. I may try BRY-97 again, but will have to figure out how to tweak the fermentation profile. (Posted on 12/16/13)
Well-balanced, tasty beer! Review by Paula
Rating
The hops make it sing. (Posted on 11/2/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register