Pirate's Plunder India Dark Ale Extract Kit

SKU: U0960
Rating
22 Review(s)

As shrewd as any British trader, the pirate barons courted silks and spices to trade on the blackmarket. Gold and silver to line their coffers - and one treasure they valued above all else – the legendary ales brewed in Britain to withstand the long voyage to India. Rum was seafarer’s swill next to a hogshead of India Ale!

Rooted in the rich tradition of India Pale Ales, our recipe is kissed with malt as dark as the sea on a moonless night, for a dark and hoppy marriage made in homebrew heaven. A gentle bitterness sets the initial tone. Next comes opulent notes of rich malt, followed by boastful American hops with resinous tea-leaf undertones. Bergamot, pine, grapefruit, and a hint of chocolate complete the hop-heavy finish, yielding an ale that’s definitely worth plundering for.

Pirate's Plunder India Dark Ale

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 22 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Not bad Review by david
Rating
I bought this on a special discount deal, I am a sucker for them.

I split this batch up, following the recipe for half, and then the other being creative. I weighed out 2 ounces of oak chips and covered them up in Myers Coconut Rum. Then added the concoction to the secondary when I dry hopped the other. The pirates plunder is ok I liked it, not really loved it, but it's ok and drinkable. To me its like a stout with a light hop taste and smell to it. You get the roasty and the coffee then some hops. The other half I played with I was afraid (as I always am when I play with a recipe) it would be undrinkable, but it is really good. The color is very dark, the flavors are of a stout with a complex taste of rum, coconut, and oak.

It's a nice recipe to play with. (Posted on 2/23/15)
... amazing Review by Jonathan
Rating
I did what another reviewer mentioned they did... which was put ~2 lbs of toasted coconut into the boil which I also poured into primary. I've gone off the reservation and made my own beers before and they've been great - but this kit with toasted coconut made one of the best beers I've ever had. It's incredibly smooth, easy to drink, and plenty of dark flavor. I also agree with the sentiment that this is pretty close to a porter. (Posted on 9/24/14)
Excellent Review by Phil
Rating
Easy to brew, easy to drink. Beautifully dark with a surprisingly bright taste. (Posted on 6/25/14)
Delicious Review by Matt
Rating
Bought this kit to try something different than the Black IPA kit I brewed last winter. It is not as hop forward as I was hoping for but it really turned out to be a delicious, well balanced beer. OG was 1.060 and only got down to 1.018 so it turned out a bit lower gravity than anticipated. Also, the Nocturnal blend did not all fit in the muslin bag that came with the kit. I realized this after I started pouring them into the first bag but thankfully had extra bags on hand so I split it into two bags to steep. (Posted on 3/24/14)
Caribou Slobber on steriods Review by Hencini
Rating
Pretty good beer. Honestly, it reminds me a lot of the last NB beer I brewed-- the Caribou Slobber-- but on steriods. More malt, more hop, more alcohol.

I've had it in the keg for about nine days after a 31 day primary/dry hop secondary. It was definitely a little green the first week or so in the keg (as is to be expected-- total advertised time if you bottle is 4-6 weeks), but it is improving daily. At this point, it's good enough that I would call it done, but I'm thinking it will continue to develop for maybe another week.

If I did it again (not sure I will-- too many fish in the sea, pardon the pun), I would only dry hop for five to seven days instead of the recommended 7-14. I think that would help reduce the green flavor I got initially and perhaps provide a dryer IPA flavor.

Also, I didn't expect the 6.2 ABV. Whereas the Caribou Slobber was an easy session beer, this beer packs much more of a punch. It's still an easy drinker-- the alcohol is very well hidden-- but if you're not careful this one will sneak up on you... (Posted on 2/26/14)
Great beer Review by Steve
Rating
I bought this kit and decided to add toasted coconut soaked in dark rum to try as a true pirate style rum. I bought some unsweetened coconut and toasted in the oven. Added about 4 oz in with the grains and soaked the remaining 12 oz in black seal rum to add to secondary. Try a sip as I was bottling and could really taste the coconut and rum. At 2 weeks after bottling tried one and thought the rum was a little over powering. Decided to try again after 3 weeks and quite pleased with how it mellowed out. I really like the way it came out and will definitely brew again!! (Posted on 1/10/14)
Great brew even with a few errors Review by Todd
Rating
This was my first attempt at home brewing and it turned out great even with a few errors. Made it on the stove and didn't get a good boil, probably should have used more priming sugar so it took a little longer to carbonate. That being said it it satisfied my desire for a good nut brown ale. Will be brewing again after I run through the laundry list of beers I want to try making. I'm sure the next attempt will be even better which would make it outstanding. (Posted on 12/19/13)
Interesting example of India Dark Ale Review by Ryan
Rating
Hard to fit this beer into a specific style. I guess it closely resembles a CDA or India Dark Ale but with the extract, specialty grains and yeast making it more like an English Porter. And it's not as hop-forward as an India Dark Ale. This is the first time I've used Brewer's Gold hops and I think they perfectly mix with the grains and Cascade hops. I did reduce the Magnum bittering hop addition to .75 oz instead of 1 oz and I'm glad I did as I think it would have turned out too bitter if I followed the recipe exactly. If you're a hophead this may not be the beer for you. I am, but this beer is more balanced, which I appreciate. In the future, if I brew an India Dark Ale, I think I'll order 1# of the Nocturnal Grain Blend as I was very happy with those flavors.
As a side note, this is my first kit beer and my first extract batch in 4 years. I made the Baltic Porter extract kit the same day. Both beers had an OG of 1.060 when I finished. This kit says it will be 1.064 and the Baltic Porter said 1.070 yet they contained the same amount of extract. I don't understand how Northern Brewer can claim that they will have these different OGs. Also, I was upset that both beers did not ferment down below 1.018. I guess that's the price you pay doing extract batches and not having control over mash temp in order to aid fermentability.
The discrepancy in OG listed on the recipes is the only reason I gave this recipe 4 starts instead of 5. (Posted on 12/17/13)
Let's parlay. Review by John
Rating
This is a well known brew in my parts. Why have just one! (Posted on 12/16/13)
Best Yet Review by PourTaste
Rating
I've brewed about 7 different kits this year from NB, some really good brews but this one tops them all. One week in the primary, 5 in the secondary with the last 2 weeks dry cascade hopped. 10 days after bottling it was excellent.

Lot's of yummy grapefruit and piney flavors with a very pleasant bitterness, one of the best I've had. This one will won't last long. (Posted on 12/6/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 22 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register