MegaPot 1.2™ Brew Kettle

SKU: U42008
Rating
13 Review(s)
A breakthrough in the world of high quality kettles! MegaPot 1.2™ is a masterpiece. Every detail has been thought through to enhance the homebrewing experience. Crafted of stainless steel for ease of cleaning. Stay cool silicone handles on the kettle and lid serve to limit scorching! The handles are riveted in place to aid in lifting a hot liquid-filled pot. No weld failures here! A polished stainless steel band surrounds the upper rim, reinforcing rigidity of the pot while adding a little bling. And that's not all. We've added the feature that every brewer wants in a kettle - graduated volume markers inside the kettle - one at each gallon. No more need for a sight glass! The heart of the kettle is a 4mm thick Tri-Clad bottom- made specifically for even heat distribution. The 1.2 proportion of MegaPot has been scientifically designed to promote a vigorous boil and reduce off-flavors. And last of all, the MegaPot 1.2 logo is laser etched on every kettle. When you have the best, show it off!
MEGAPOT 1.2 DIMENSIONS:
Capacity Diameter x Height  Metric Internal Diameter by Height
8 gallon 12.6" x 15.4" 32 cm x 38 cm
10 gallon 14.1" x 16.3" 36 cm x 42 cm
15 gallon 15.7" x 18.3" 40 cm x 47 cm
20 gallon 17.7" x 20.8" 45 cm x 52 cm
30 gallon 19.7" x 23.2" 50 cm x 58.5 cm

Wall Thickness:
8 & 10 gallon : .8 mm | 15 gallon and larger: 1 mm

Megapot 1.2 Brew Kettle

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
great kettle/great price Review by GARY L.
Rating
Straight to the point,this brew kettle is a fantastic pot able to boil 5 gallon with ease .Plenty of head space to get a good rolling boiling with ease. Brewed my 1st 5 gallon Belgian dubbell w/no boil over with great ease.Might not ever need another brew kettle again .Great kettle,well worth the price. (Posted on 7/3/14)
A lot to like here Review by david
Rating
First thing I noticed was that my 10 gallon kettle is really 10 + 1 gallon headspace...so many kettles don't leave that much extra room. Wort comes to boil more quickly than what I've been using. And it's a more consistent, efficient boil, such that some of my recipes are coming out a smidge more bitter--higher hop extraction rate. So I'm working with it to slightly scale hops to this new reality #economize! One thing I have not figured out yet is that my racking cane (I rack from kettle to carboy) often seems to quit too soon, leaving a lot of wort behind until I lift and pour through a fine mesh bag. Have not faced this problem with other kettles but given the many benefits of this kettle, I'm not complaining. Well done. (Posted on 5/29/14)
Good pot Review by jody
Rating
This is a good pot! I like the measure marks in the pot. Don't waste the money on the predrilled pot option, the port location will leave a gallon of liquid in the pot. The hole is too low to do some type of tubing to get close to the bottom. I am going to get a stainless 90 pipe fitting, and try and make that close enough to siphon the last gallon. The weldless valve assembly was a total joke and waste of money. The closed nipple was too short to assemble the way shown in the instructions, I had to go buy a washer from the hardware store, not stainless steel sadly, and install in this order :valve, bought washer, o-ring, pot, o-ring, nut.

Once I get a 90, I will take this pot to a welder, and have a fitting welded to the pot, problem solved, but extra money spent.

This pot is working good on my induction stove. (Posted on 4/5/14)
Quality product Review by Smokey
Rating
This is a sturdy kettle the rubber touch handles are a nice touch. We came home from dinner with friends to the package and the girls thought the kettle cost double what it did now one is asking for one to use as a lobster pot. (Posted on 3/29/14)
Stellar pot Review by Michael
Rating
I have never used a more expensive pot, and there certainly are more expensive pots, and I have never used a better one. This was a very welcome upgrade from my cheap starter pots. I can brew a full volume 5 gallon batch without having to split the batch I to two lots or using top off water. The build is excellent, very durable. I never feel nervous carrying heavy 7 gallons of hot water. This thing is built. The silicone covered handles are a nice touch, and do work as advertised. It has made a world of difference in my brewing and is an excellent upgrade. (Posted on 3/29/14)
Great Value Review by Daniel
Rating
Great pot for the price, did quite a bit of research leading up to purchase(using for all grain 5gallon brews) and this turned out to be the best pot for the price. Shipped fast and packaged well, pot looks identical to the pictures. Very high quality pot and worked great right on my gas stove. Definitely helps to have the volume markings and the silicone handles. Just buy it already. (Posted on 1/8/14)
Great kettle! Review by Matt
Rating
I was given the 8 gallon pot as a gift and absolutely love it! I'm a beginning brewer and haven't had a single issue with scorching while I figure out how to work with my burner. Also, if you're brewing 5-6 gallon batches, the extra headspace in the 8 gallon kettle is VERY helpful in preventing boilovers. (Posted on 12/29/13)
Great pot with lid flaw Review by Darin
Rating
This pot has everything going for to be the best pot on the market, however it seems to suffer from a flaw in the lid design/quality. It seems a bit thin and less durable than the pot itself, and the one I got does not lay flat - like it's warped. Granted the lid is not the most important part, however if you wanted to do any mashing in the pot you wouldn't be able to hold temp as good without a good seal. It also slides from side to side more than other pots I've used, like it's a hair too small. Needless to say it's kind of annoying given what these pots go for. (Posted on 12/26/13)
Great pot Review by Bob
Rating
This is my third brew kettle, and is the perfect pot in nearly every way. I bought the 10gal without the valve and thermometer. I intend to install my own a little differently. It is sturdy, I love the etched liquid levels, and the silicon handle covers look like they won't slide around under load. It arrived double-boxed with no damage to the substantial packaging. Unfortunately, the rim is damaged and the lid doesn't sit flat. Most expensive brew pot I've had and has the worst-fitting lid. Doesn't really hurt it functionally and not worth returning, but it could have been perfect. I assume most are fine and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this kettle to anyone. (Posted on 12/17/13)
Heavy Duty, For Sure Review by EyeMind79
Rating
For review sake, I bought the 8 gallon, with no fittings.

This thing is strong and does not feel cheap at all. I was a little bummed the Tall Boy wasn't in stock, but was willing the pay the extra price for some of the added touches this kettle has. The silicone handles are key because this thing gets hot as hell! At first I was hesitant to pay the extra price for just the handles. However, now that I have used this with a full 5.5 gallon boil, I can't imagine not having the coated handles. They provided an essential grip when lifting a huge pot full of hot wort.

There was no boil over, no scorch, and we lost very, very little to evaporation. It cleaned up really well. It also did come packaged great and I really feel I invested well. This is something I know I will have for a few years. I have even made 2 smaller all grain batches with it and a grain bag built for a 12"x12" provided to be an awesome fit.

There was a con - perhaps not con, but just some things to be aware of. First, if you do get it without fittings and do full gallon boils, this thing gets heavy. That's a plus as in it's certainly not a cheap piece of equipment, just be very careful and maybe have a friend help you. My old cheap pot I could lift full, but this bad boy I certainly need help with.

Secondly, and this really depends on your setup, it took a good while to get heated up. Now I use my kitchen stove - not really ideal for this, but just a head's up for anyone like me waiting to invest in a burner.

In a nutshell, I'm glad I got this over the Tall Boy. (Posted on 11/1/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register