MegaPot 1.2™ Brew Kettle with Ball Valve / Thermometer

SKU: U42008X
Rating
21 Review(s)
A breakthrough in the world of high quality kettles! MegaPot 1.2™ is a masterpiece. Every detail has been thought through to enhance the homebrewing experience. Crafted of stainless steel for ease of cleaning. Stay cool silicone handles on the kettle and lid serve to limit scorching! The handles are riveted in place to aid in lifting a hot liquid-filled pot. No weld failures here! A polished stainless steel band surrounds the upper rim, reinforcing rigidity of the pot while adding a little bling. And that's not all. We've added the feature that every brewer wants in a kettle - graduated volume markers inside the kettle - one at each gallon. No more need for a sight glass! The heart of the kettle is a 4mm thick Tri-Clad bottom- made specifically for even heat distribution. The 1.2 proportion of MegaPot has been scientifically designed to promote a vigorous boil and reduce off-flavors. And last of all, the MegaPot 1.2™ logo is laser etched on every kettle. When you have the best, show it off!
MEGAPOT 1.2 DIMENSIONS:
Capacity Diameter x Height  Metric Internal Diameter by Height
8 gallon 12.6" x 15.4" 32 cm x 38 cm
10 gallon 14.1" x 16.3" 36 cm x 42 cm
15 gallon 15.7" x 18.3" 40 cm x 47 cm
20 gallon 17.7" x 20.8" 45 cm x 52 cm
30 gallon 19.7" x 23.2" 50 cm x 58.5 cm

Valve and Thermometer Height (as measured from bottom of kettle):
Valve :1-3/4" | Thermometer: 5-1/2"

Wall Thickness:
8 & 10 gallon : .8 mm | 15 gallon and larger: 1 mm

MegaPot 1.2 Brew Kettle with Ball Valve / Thermometer

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 21 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Great kettle once set up correctly Review by Jim
Rating
I recently bought the 10g version. I'll start by saying this is a very high quality kettle that looks great. I bought mine with a false bottom to filter out leaf hops. The false bottom fits perfectly, really tight fit.

My initial attempt at installing the thermometer and ball valve ended up in a leaking boil. After that happened, I disassembled both the ball valve and thermometer from the kettle, removed both outside o-rings, added food grade silicone lubricant to the 2 inside o-rings, teflon taped the through screw grooves, and re-installed with both o-ring nuts on the inside of the kettle. I can now tighten both very tight without ruining the o-rings. Both thermometer and ball valve are nice and secure with no leaks.

There's so much heat on the outside o-rings from the burner. They just torch and lose their shape.

The only other thing I'd do different is order without the thermometer and just buy it separately. My thermometer hazed up slightly at parts after first use. It also is really not worth the $50 extra.

Overall, this is a great kettle that I'm very glad I bought. The 10g size is awesome for all grain brews. No more micromanaging the boil status to keep from boiling over.
(Posted on 8/24/14)
Great Sturdy Pot for my BIAB Review by Gavin
Rating
Very solid and I am totally pleased with this product. My one minor complaint and this is solely down to my inexperience as a brewer, is that I should have just had the holes drilled and in different places as other reviewers have done without the purchase of additional fittings. I would have been able to customize the pot more to my current spec. No worries it still works great. Have added a DIY dip tube (SS 90 elbow and the supplied 1/2" male NPTx 1/2" hose barb replacing the standard coupling) and an F cam lock on the valve. No leaks whatsoever but did use Teflon on all fittings. I wish I had a hole for a sightglass, not wanting to risk damaging my pot drilling the hole without a press. I will live without one. Not really needed owing to he internal markings in any case. (Posted on 8/13/14)
She's a beast Review by Ryan
Rating
This kettle is freaking sweet. Upgraded from a 5 gallon kettle so I can start doing all-grain BIAB. It has more than enough room for 7 gallons plus 10 lbs of grains. Super sturdy, keeps heat well, and looks impressive sitting in my kitchen. (Posted on 7/21/14)
Value Review by Nicholas
Rating
I have been wanting a SS mashtun for a while. The 15 gal is a solid kettle. I plan on buying a 20 gal w/ball valve as a boil kettle. Getting a good seal takes some work, so buy a welded kettle if you don't want to deal with this issue. (Posted on 7/18/14)
Bang for buck Review by Mark
Rating
Dollar for dollar fantastic kettle vs other brands. Very solid construction, will last for generations. Good boil times with 7.5 gallon batches. Time from old economy kettle was around 35 minutes for 3 gallons to 50 minutes for 7.5 gallons in the MegaPot 1.2 no problems with anything leaking from valve or thermometer. Very satisfied. (Posted on 4/30/14)
Excellent Products and Excellent Customer Support Review by Jim
Rating
I upgraded my three 10 gallon pots doing 5 gallon batches to two 15 gallon (1 MLT and 1 HLT) and one 20 gallon for my new BK...so that I can brew 10 gallons easily. The false bottom was a little tight in the MLT....but only needed some very minimal filing/grinding for a glove-like fit. The MLT allows me plenty of space to do high gravity 5 gallon batches. My 1st batch was an all grain RIS with an OG of 1.105 without extra sugar or DME. My 2nd batch was a 10 gallon IIPA with an OG of 1.080. The 15 gallon MLT will easily hold 37/37 lbs of grain at 1.25 qts/lb...and 45 lbs at 1.00/lb.

I spoke with the NB folks because I wanted my pots with just the two holes....but no valves or thermometer. I added my own 3 piece valves and Blichmann adjustable thermometers for each pot. I got an extra hole punched in my BK and MLT at my LHBS so that I could add a whirlpool setup and a recirculating return valve for my new rig - a direct fired RIMS.

These pots are stout and very easy to clean. THANK YOU Northern Brewer ! AWESOME product....AWESOME company! (Posted on 4/28/14)
Very simple, well-documented instructions -- works like a charm Review by Kevin
Rating
Northern Brewer is quickly becoming my "go to" place for brew gear.

Excellent products and you just can't beat $7.99 flat rate shipping on most products.

I ordered the 10 gallon MegaPot with ball valve and thermometer (a Blichmann, by the way) last Friday (3/28) with two other items. Arrived today by UPS (4/4). Packed to withstand "careless delivery", everything arrived tip top.

Everything was documented to understand -- installed the ball valve and thermometer in about 60 minutes...while having dinner and drinking a homebrew. No leaks, no issues....very very pleased with my purchase. (Posted on 4/5/14)
Great Value Review by Doug
Rating
Out-of-the-box impression was great...more sturdy that I imagined. I did not think the etched volume markings would be a big deal, but now I am very glad to have. No issues with valve or thermometer assembly, followed the instructions and had no leaks. I would give this 4.5 stars if I could. Minor reasons for missing the 5-star mark...lid has an ever-so-slight bend to it so opposite sides do not make contact with rim of kettle...approximately 2-3 mm...no big deal. Secondly, one of the handle attachment plates is bent out about 5 mm so it is not flush with the pot...again...no big deal. Lastly, to be really nit-picky the laser etched logo and holes for valve and thermometer are not centered...minor aesthetic flaw. Overall is it a great value?...absolutely yes.
Additions I made that really help...for boil kettle or HLT...I replaced the inside valve coupler with a SS street elbow (female / hose barb from brewhardware) to function as a dip tube. Now I can drain all but two cups from kettle if I so desire without tipping. Also added a heat shield to protect valve and thermometer. (Posted on 3/31/14)
A vigorous boil indeed. Review by Matt
Rating
I got the 10 gallon model with the works. I did a 6 gallon boil on the darkstar burner (also a great product). We still had some boil over problems even with the 4 gallons of head space, so when they say vigorous boil, they mean it.

Promotes a perfect even boil with the boil coming up from the center of the wort, just as they advertise.

When I first assembled it and had some leakage, but I figured out that I switched the orings whilst assembling the ball valve. Be careful to use the correct orings in the proper place (the directions specify).

Although we did have some problems getting a steady boil, I think that was because of weather and out own inexperience as opposed to the kettle.

A meritorious product. Would buy another. (Posted on 3/9/14)
So far...So Good Review by Jeff
Rating
The first thing i did (after reading other reviews) was to read the assembly instructions and put this beauty together. I was extremely pleased that my new kettle passed its first water test with all supplied parts. No need for larger o-rings, just follow the instructions. Following that i boiled 4 gals of water to season the pot before brewing. I immediately followed that with a nice partial mash IPA and it did well. I love being able to see how close my wort is to boiling without taking the lid and dropping my wort temp. so, after 3 times holding liquid i have not had a leak and love the new kettle. Thanks NB! (Posted on 3/4/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 21 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register