Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Glass Fermentor

SKU: U42065
Rating
39 Review(s)

THE EASIEST VESSEL TO GET CLEAN & KEEP CLEAN.
When you put your brew in a fermentation vessel, your ONE expectation is that it will stay clean and that your yeast will be able to eat happily without anything funky going on. A strictly non-funky fermentation party. That's it. But how can you expect the cleanest and safest fermentation environment when you can’t even scrub the bottle with your own two hands? Superior to a carboy, this vessel was designed especially for sanitizing and fermentation.

DESIGNED BY BREWERS, FOR HOMEBREWING.
Brewing can be a messy business—but no more! Stick your arm in to clean the entire inside with a swipe of the cleaning cloth. No need to use an inefficient test tube brush to reach corners and curves. Enjoy total confidence that every hint of bacteria is gone, protecting you investment in brewtime. The wide-mouth makes it easy to add or remove ingredients. The screw top guarantees the top stays on through fermentation. Say goodbye to your glass carboys!

BIG MOUTH BUBBLER™
Product Specifications:
5 gallon 6.5 gallon
SKU: 42050 42065
Price: $37.99 $43.99
Weight: 13 16
Height (w/lid, closed): 16" 17 5/8"
Diameter: 11 7/8" 12 3/8"
Mouth: 5.5" 5.5"
Lid material: PP PP
Lid Seal Material: PE Foam PE Foam

Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Fermentor

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Just a good idea :) Review by Braindead
Rating
I love the big mouth carboy, makes it easier to add dry hops, fruits for sour beers, cleaning is a snap. My only complaint isn't even about the product but rather the marketing I suppose. For us folks who brew sour ales and Brett ales, these carboys are perfect, except you do not sell replacement lids, lid gaskets are listed which I have a ton of, but I feel you should offer replacement lids so us sour freaks can use our carboys for clean and sour ales.

If I were to order two carboys and switch one lid to sour, I would still be short a lid for fermentation. Maybe it's just me but that's my review. Thanks for the awesome product!
(Posted on 4/20/14)
The Best! Review by Mike
Rating
This is the best fermenter I Have ever purchased. I just transferred the Plinyien Legacy to my second Bubbler and the first was clean and dry in minutes without the use of chemicals, scrubbers or soaking. For my plate chiller set up the chill tube fits perfectly in the small opening with no exposure to the air and the clear lid/ Airlock allows this to fit perfectly in my fermentation chamber. I have given away all my six gallon carboys and turned all of my buckets into yard work buckets. This IS the only fermenter you will ever need. well worth every penny. (Posted on 4/12/14)
Amazing! Review by John
Rating
I just upgraded to this and it rocks! (Posted on 4/12/14)
So Easy To Clean Review by Heath
Rating
I have been using the 5 gal size for the secondary and the 6.5 for the primary. Have ran about 40 gallons of beer through them with no major issues. A few things I wouldn't mind upgraded though are:

A better connection for the blow off hose, so far haven't had any issue with foaming up at the lid it seems to have an adequate seal but would be nice to secure it without having to wrap some tape around it.

The foam seals are working fine once you get the lid nice and snug. Anyone know an easy way to get them out to clean them though. Takes a bit of finesse to get them out without causing damage.

Doesn't fit the stick on thermostats very well.

I just got two more in the mail today and they came with a hollow stopper that sits more securely over the hole for the airlock. Much better than the small ones that went seemed like they were going to pop out of the hole when wet. (Posted on 4/11/14)
Clean in a fraction of time Review by Grecky
Rating
This is a great idea and long time coming. I really appreciate how easy this was to clean. I had this sucker cleaned in a fraction of the time as a regular carboy. Brewed a Plinian Legacy in it with two sets of dry hops, so needless to say it had a thick layer of yeast, trub and hops in the bottom after I racked. No worries with this...The only thing I wish for carboys, is that they had some hash marks on the side for the fluid levels. (Posted on 4/9/14)
Very nice...love it. Review by Gary
Rating
Really like it, not only is the wide mouth great for cleaning - but also easier when pouring wort into it.
Only "complaint" is the ridges all the way around the vessel doesn't leave you with a spot to put the temp strip on evenly.
Other than that, it is superior to the traditional carboy. (Posted on 3/29/14)
Great Overall, but a bit awkward to lift and carry Review by SBB
Rating
All,
Summary says it all. I've made 3 batches with it so far and am very pleased with it. It has plenty of headspace to keep aggressive fermentations contained, and is very easy to clean.

Although I have the carrying harness, I only use it once the beer goes into it. So, cleaning it can be a bit treacherous, particularly if it's slippery when using oxyclean. Just be careful.
One thing I just found out by accident...if you invert a standard carboy drying stand, the bubbler fits into it perfectly.

Get one, you'll be glad you did. (Posted on 3/29/14)
Only way to Dry Hop! Review by BH
Rating
I agree with everyone's comments here and especially recommend this item to those who dry hop.

Whether you add pellets or fresh hops, the larger opening on this carboy eliminates the problem of removing the bag through the narrow opening of a traditional carboy.

We also bought the harness and it adds stability when moving the carboy around. (Less likely to stir up any sediments.)

We have three traditional carboys and will still use them for beers where adjuncts aren't involved, but the Big Mouth is the only way to go for dry hopped brews! (Posted on 3/28/14)
good - could be great Review by edd
Rating
good - easy to clean
bad - uses a #8 stopper. i cannot drill a second hole in the stopper for a thermowell as a #8 is quite small. and no one makes a 2-hole #8 stopper that i know of. so the stopper will be used to hold the thermowell and now i must drill a hole in the lid for an airlock/blowoff. hopefully this can be fixed with a different style lid that will take a #5 or #6 stopper like most glass carboys. (Posted on 3/23/14)
Great for dry hopping, but... Review by Will
Rating
I do like this product over the traditional carboy but it's very susceptible to cracking from temperature changes. I went to wash it after dry hopping with it for the first time and it cracked when it came in contact with the hot water. I know I should have used cold water but the water wasn't uncomfortably hot to the touch and it still cracked the bubbler. The bubbler wasn't cold either, just room temp. I very well might buy another because of how much easier it is to dry hop but I these should only be washed with cold or lukewarm water. (Posted on 3/19/14)

Items 11 to 20 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register