Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Glass Fermentor

SKU: U42065
Rating
44 Review(s)

THE EASIEST VESSEL TO GET CLEAN & KEEP CLEAN.
When you put your brew in a fermentation vessel, your ONE expectation is that it will stay clean and that your yeast will be able to eat happily without anything funky going on. A strictly non-funky fermentation party. That's it. But how can you expect the cleanest and safest fermentation environment when you can’t even scrub the bottle with your own two hands? Superior to a carboy, this vessel was designed especially for sanitizing and fermentation.

DESIGNED BY BREWERS, FOR HOMEBREWING.
Brewing can be a messy business—but no more! Stick your arm in to clean the entire inside with a swipe of the cleaning cloth. No need to use an inefficient test tube brush to reach corners and curves. Enjoy total confidence that every hint of bacteria is gone, protecting you investment in brewtime. The wide-mouth makes it easy to add or remove ingredients. The screw top guarantees the top stays on through fermentation. Say goodbye to your glass carboys!

BIG MOUTH BUBBLER™
Product Specifications:
5 gallon 6.5 gallon
SKU: 42050 42065
Weight: 13 16
Height (w/lid, closed): 16" 17 5/8"
Diameter: 11 7/8" 12 3/8"
Mouth: 5.5" 5.5"
Lid material: PP PP
Lid Seal Material: PE Foam PE Foam

Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Fermentor

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 44 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
Very nice...love it. Review by Gary
Rating
Really like it, not only is the wide mouth great for cleaning - but also easier when pouring wort into it.
Only "complaint" is the ridges all the way around the vessel doesn't leave you with a spot to put the temp strip on evenly.
Other than that, it is superior to the traditional carboy. (Posted on 3/29/14)
Great Overall, but a bit awkward to lift and carry Review by SBB
Rating
All,
Summary says it all. I've made 3 batches with it so far and am very pleased with it. It has plenty of headspace to keep aggressive fermentations contained, and is very easy to clean.

Although I have the carrying harness, I only use it once the beer goes into it. So, cleaning it can be a bit treacherous, particularly if it's slippery when using oxyclean. Just be careful.
One thing I just found out by accident...if you invert a standard carboy drying stand, the bubbler fits into it perfectly.

Get one, you'll be glad you did. (Posted on 3/29/14)
Only way to Dry Hop! Review by BH
Rating
I agree with everyone's comments here and especially recommend this item to those who dry hop.

Whether you add pellets or fresh hops, the larger opening on this carboy eliminates the problem of removing the bag through the narrow opening of a traditional carboy.

We also bought the harness and it adds stability when moving the carboy around. (Less likely to stir up any sediments.)

We have three traditional carboys and will still use them for beers where adjuncts aren't involved, but the Big Mouth is the only way to go for dry hopped brews! (Posted on 3/28/14)
good - could be great Review by edd
Rating
good - easy to clean
bad - uses a #8 stopper. i cannot drill a second hole in the stopper for a thermowell as a #8 is quite small. and no one makes a 2-hole #8 stopper that i know of. so the stopper will be used to hold the thermowell and now i must drill a hole in the lid for an airlock/blowoff. hopefully this can be fixed with a different style lid that will take a #5 or #6 stopper like most glass carboys. (Posted on 3/23/14)
Great for dry hopping, but... Review by Will
Rating
I do like this product over the traditional carboy but it's very susceptible to cracking from temperature changes. I went to wash it after dry hopping with it for the first time and it cracked when it came in contact with the hot water. I know I should have used cold water but the water wasn't uncomfortably hot to the touch and it still cracked the bubbler. The bubbler wasn't cold either, just room temp. I very well might buy another because of how much easier it is to dry hop but I these should only be washed with cold or lukewarm water. (Posted on 3/19/14)
Thinking about it? Do it. Review by Charlie
Rating
This is the way carboys should have been, all the while. Vastly easier to use, at all stages. I purchased several, and don't really ever see using my old buckets or standard carboys, unless i'm in brewing crisis. :-)

Haven't felt confident enough in the odd little accessory that allows the lid to double as an airlock ... but i will try it at some point.

The harnesses for these, are superb as well.
(Posted on 3/17/14)
Great Product Review by Michael
Rating
I've used it once and loved it. Cleaning is as easy as you can imagine.

I used my Brew Hauler without problem. I have not used the Harness that is sold separately so I cannot comment on that. But if you already have a Brew Hauler you can save yourself $20.

The 'Built-In' airlock is a bit peculiar; its awkward to attach to the threading on the lid. So I opted for the traditional air lock. I'm probably going to throw this piece away and continue using the traditional airlocks.

If the port in the lid was the standard #6.5 so it could accommodate an auto-siphon and I could reuse all my old stoppers this would be a 6-star product. But I'm being pretty picky here, this is an awesome product! I plan to order more in the near future. (Posted on 3/14/14)
So glad I waited. Review by Will
Rating
Had been brewing for over a year on Mr. Beer kits (2 gallons) and only recently started doing (2) 1 gallon NB kits, to step up my game. Starting to get hooked on this whole 'homebrew' thing, so when it came time to upgrade, this was the obvious choice. I've heard of (and seen) standard carboy cleaning procedure nightmares, so I really wanted to avoid that.

Ordered the pair (6.5 & 5) and one showed up broken. NB fixed that quick. Brewed the Sierra Madre pale ale as the inaugural beer, and bottled last week. After racking to bottling bucket, I brought this thing outside and blasted it with the hose. Literally done cleaning in five minutes. Little scrubbing with the included rags and it looked good as new. Got brew #2 going as we speak (American amber that I'm gonna add bananas too). Sure to be happy! (Posted on 3/14/14)
Easy to clean, but ... Review by Jim
Rating
I mainly bought the Bubbler for it's ease of cleaning and for that it gets a 5/5. But the setup for the bung and airlock makes me check it often. Perhaps in time, I will get used to the bung feeling like it could pop out at any time, but for now I check every morning and night. Shame that the screw top does not have a hole for an airlock. (Posted on 3/4/14)
Weak glass/design? Review by Mark
Rating
Mine broke after 2-3 months, when a normal carboy bumped into it in the backseat around a corner. Icky appears correct in questioning the thickness of the glass; my incident wasn't a major impact. The functionality of the design can't be beat, but the design of the classic carboy, especially the neck, seems much stronger. I also agree with Anthony and Icky that a (stainless steel) lid designed for a larger stopper would also be a great improvement. Despite the strength issue, it is still probably a smart enough design to make it a good purchase, just remember it's a princess. 5 stars for functionality, 1 for integrity, averages to 3 stars. (Posted on 3/3/14)

Items 21 to 30 of 44 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register