Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Glass Fermentor

SKU: U42065
Rating
33 Review(s)

THE EASIEST VESSEL TO GET CLEAN & KEEP CLEAN.
When you put your brew in a fermentation vessel, your ONE expectation is that it will stay clean and that your yeast will be able to eat happily without anything funky going on. A strictly non-funky fermentation party. That's it. But how can you expect the cleanest and safest fermentation environment when you can’t even scrub the bottle with your own two hands? Superior to a carboy, this vessel was designed especially for sanitizing and fermentation.

DESIGNED BY BREWERS, FOR HOMEBREWING.
Brewing can be a messy business—but no more! Stick your arm in to clean the entire inside with a swipe of the cleaning cloth. No need to use an inefficient test tube brush to reach corners and curves. Enjoy total confidence that every hint of bacteria is gone, protecting you investment in brewtime. The wide-mouth makes it easy to add or remove ingredients. The screw top guarantees the top stays on through fermentation. Say goodbye to your glass carboys!

BIG MOUTH BUBBLER™
Product Specifications:
5 gallon 6.5 gallon
SKU: 42050 42065
Price: $37.99 $43.99
Weight: 13 16
Height (w/lid, closed): 16" 17 5/8"
Diameter: 11 7/8" 12 3/8"
Mouth: 5.5" 5.5"
Lid material: PP PP
Lid Seal Material: PE Foam PE Foam

Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Fermentor

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
At Last Review by Icky
Rating
I bought a pair of these a month ago and have only used them once so far, but I'm pretty happy. However, they are different in a few ways I wasn't anticipating. These mean a few other equipment purchases I wasn't counting on.

1) I agree with everything Anthony posted about the lid and in particular the blowoff hole. The central hole isn't large enough to accept a wine thief or larger auto-siphon. Having to take the big mouth lid off for transfers and samples is more exposure to air than I'd prefer. May have to get a mini-auto siphon. It also means you'll need to get some new stoppers since your 6.5 and 7s are way too big.

2) The glass is much thinner than your typical carboy. I feel like I need to use a lot more caution in handling these carboys. May need to get a rubber mat for them so I'm better protected when putting them on the concrete floor.

3) I didn't realize how much I relied on the neck of standard carboys for handling them. I initially thought the available harness for these wouldn't me much use, but now I'm reconsidering.

All in all, though still a very worthwhile purchase. (Posted on 2/15/14)
Dry Hop baby! Review by Tim
Rating
Agree with all the previous comments.
Easy addition and removal of Hops in the carboy is awesome. (Posted on 2/11/14)
Wonderful Product Review by Matthew
Rating
I received one of these for Christmas and just emptied it out after fermenting my first batch in it. This is an exceptional product. The airlock design is awesome and works VERY well. It comes with a threaded cap that has small openings in the bottom of it. You thread the cap on to the top of the carboy lid and fill the lid itself with water creating your air lock. Much better than a standard airlock in my opinion but they do include a drilled bung for a traditional airlock if you so choose. Cleaning was as you can expect, a breeze.

My only two gripes is the lid o ring is not a very durable material and secondly, the lid is sometimes very tough to get off when opening to draw samples and what not. The ridges in the glass are not an issue for me and the horizontal ridges actually line up perfectly for 1 gallon measurements (on mine it does anyway).

One other reviewer mentioned that you cannot order the lid seals and other items without purchasing the carboy but this is not true. I decided after I purchased the carboy that I wanted the blow off tube so I just put a comment in the notes of a later order to include the blow off tube only and charge my card the extra cost. Northern Brewer was happy to do that for me.

Overall, very happy with the product. (Posted on 2/5/14)
Well worth it Review by Flyfish-PA
Rating
This is probably the best equipment purchase I have made in a while. The wide mouth makes clean up soooooo much easier. Why this wasn't done before I'll never know but kudos for them to come up with it now. All of the parts are quality. I literally have no complaints. (Posted on 2/2/14)
A step in the right direction Review by John
Rating
Much better than the standard carboy. Like one other reviewer mentioned, the inside would be better without the grooves and ears or tabs on the lid would make it perfect. Still, I would use this over the old carboy any day. (Posted on 1/25/14)
WHHY DIDNT I THINK OF THIS?!?!?!? Review by Ben
Rating
I have been homebrewing for almost a decade. I, like many others, have spent hours upon hours upon hours trying to get every last little bit of yeast, krausen, and just all the muck out of my traditional carboys. I don't even want to talk about trying to dry hop with whole leaf hops, or adding a bag of oak spirals through that small opening. I received a 6.5 big mouth bubbler for Christmas and have since fermented 2 batches in it. Needless to say, I LOVE IT!!! So much so, I ordered a second and fully intend on ordering a third. The ease of cleaning, dry hopping, and adding flavors to your secondary is unmatched. If you've arrived at this review, stop reading and order your Big Mouth Bubbler NOW!!! (Posted on 1/14/14)
Good Idea Review by Ryan
Rating
Overall it's a good idea, soaking the other fermenters in PBW was getting expensive. The first fermentation i had with this i simply used the clear cap and some sanitzer, the fermentation blew off through the cap and over the sides (had fermenter in plastic tub). Once settled a little more i just inscrewed the cap rinsed and resanitized and it seemed to work fine. (Posted on 1/9/14)
Great idea, lid needs some rethinking Review by Anthony
Rating
Overall great idea. However, there are some flaws in the lid design. For one, the lid construction is rather flimsy plastic, and the gaskets are a cheap foam type, which as of now you can only order spares when you purchase the carboy. Secondly, the size of the second smaller opening which accomodates the stopper/airlock is small and inconvenient for carryover of stoppers from other carboys (1, 5, and 6.5 gal). Also, it prohibits use of the dual drilled #6.5 stopper for a thermowell due to its small size. The outside of the smaller opening is also threaded, which makes a 1 inch ID vinyl blow off tube useless as it is not airtight.

Overall, great idea and makes cleaning and rinsining much easier and quicker, but as others have mentioned the lid needs some redesign. I would love to see a stainless steel lid option with a larger stopper/airlock opening and gaskets of better materials. (Posted on 1/8/14)
Great fermentation jug, well thought out design! Review by John
Rating
I like to see the yeast eating away in my fermenter. This jug is great for this and many other reasons.
Pros:
Even at 6.5 this vessel is lower in height than even a 5 gallon Carboy,@ 2 3/4" shorter, it provides additional room for fermentation spaces with height restrictions.

With a strip thermometer that attaches to the outside of a vessel, a more accurate reading of you're fermenting wort can be obtained because this vessel is wider and shorter than others, allowing less stratification of liquids,therefore obtaining a more concentrated reading.

The threaded lid and gasket allow a tight seal, when used properly.

The large lid allows ease of taking hydrometer samples.

Very easy cleaning, increasing efficiency of sanitation.

The small diameter interior screw off cap that supports the included bung for an air lock, is the smallest bung available. I would prefer a gallon jug (#6) size bung hole design instead because I fit a blowoff hose over the interior tube section of three piece locks. However I believe they designed this smaller hole to accommodate a blow off hose directly.
Another plastic cap is provided, that I believe they intended to use with a #6 bung if you drill the top part of the cap out as an adapter ? Maybe they will change the lid design in the future, but no problem, they provide versatility. A great vessel overall!






(Posted on 1/4/14)
Not sure about blowoff Review by Jake
Rating
I was a little worried my blow-off tube wouldn't fit on here properly but it slid right over the small opening threads. However, it didn't seem like the air was making it into my blowoff vessel. It's possible I had the tube so deep that the air pressure wasn't enough to actually blow all the way though, but that means the air was coming out through the side of the blowoff around the threads.

Might be nice to have an additional screw top with barbs on it instead of just the screws for the blow-off (or just don't seat your blowoff tube too deep in the vessel).

However, it was really easy to clean when I got it and super easy to pitch my yeast with such a large opening (I usually have to use a funnel).
(Posted on 1/3/14)

Items 21 to 30 of 33 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register