Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Glass Fermentor

SKU: U42065
Rating
40 Review(s)

THE EASIEST VESSEL TO GET CLEAN & KEEP CLEAN.
When you put your brew in a fermentation vessel, your ONE expectation is that it will stay clean and that your yeast will be able to eat happily without anything funky going on. A strictly non-funky fermentation party. That's it. But how can you expect the cleanest and safest fermentation environment when you can’t even scrub the bottle with your own two hands? Superior to a carboy, this vessel was designed especially for sanitizing and fermentation.

DESIGNED BY BREWERS, FOR HOMEBREWING.
Brewing can be a messy business—but no more! Stick your arm in to clean the entire inside with a swipe of the cleaning cloth. No need to use an inefficient test tube brush to reach corners and curves. Enjoy total confidence that every hint of bacteria is gone, protecting you investment in brewtime. The wide-mouth makes it easy to add or remove ingredients. The screw top guarantees the top stays on through fermentation. Say goodbye to your glass carboys!

BIG MOUTH BUBBLER™
Product Specifications:
5 gallon 6.5 gallon
SKU: 42050 42065
Price: $37.99 $43.99
Weight: 13 16
Height (w/lid, closed): 16" 17 5/8"
Diameter: 11 7/8" 12 3/8"
Mouth: 5.5" 5.5"
Lid material: PP PP
Lid Seal Material: PE Foam PE Foam

Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Fermentor

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 40 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Great for dry hopping, but... Review by Will
Rating
I do like this product over the traditional carboy but it's very susceptible to cracking from temperature changes. I went to wash it after dry hopping with it for the first time and it cracked when it came in contact with the hot water. I know I should have used cold water but the water wasn't uncomfortably hot to the touch and it still cracked the bubbler. The bubbler wasn't cold either, just room temp. I very well might buy another because of how much easier it is to dry hop but I these should only be washed with cold or lukewarm water. (Posted on 3/19/14)
Thinking about it? Do it. Review by Charlie
Rating
This is the way carboys should have been, all the while. Vastly easier to use, at all stages. I purchased several, and don't really ever see using my old buckets or standard carboys, unless i'm in brewing crisis. :-)

Haven't felt confident enough in the odd little accessory that allows the lid to double as an airlock ... but i will try it at some point.

The harnesses for these, are superb as well.
(Posted on 3/17/14)
Great Product Review by Michael
Rating
I've used it once and loved it. Cleaning is as easy as you can imagine.

I used my Brew Hauler without problem. I have not used the Harness that is sold separately so I cannot comment on that. But if you already have a Brew Hauler you can save yourself $20.

The 'Built-In' airlock is a bit peculiar; its awkward to attach to the threading on the lid. So I opted for the traditional air lock. I'm probably going to throw this piece away and continue using the traditional airlocks.

If the port in the lid was the standard #6.5 so it could accommodate an auto-siphon and I could reuse all my old stoppers this would be a 6-star product. But I'm being pretty picky here, this is an awesome product! I plan to order more in the near future. (Posted on 3/14/14)
So glad I waited. Review by Will
Rating
Had been brewing for over a year on Mr. Beer kits (2 gallons) and only recently started doing (2) 1 gallon NB kits, to step up my game. Starting to get hooked on this whole 'homebrew' thing, so when it came time to upgrade, this was the obvious choice. I've heard of (and seen) standard carboy cleaning procedure nightmares, so I really wanted to avoid that.

Ordered the pair (6.5 & 5) and one showed up broken. NB fixed that quick. Brewed the Sierra Madre pale ale as the inaugural beer, and bottled last week. After racking to bottling bucket, I brought this thing outside and blasted it with the hose. Literally done cleaning in five minutes. Little scrubbing with the included rags and it looked good as new. Got brew #2 going as we speak (American amber that I'm gonna add bananas too). Sure to be happy! (Posted on 3/14/14)
Easy to clean, but ... Review by Jim
Rating
I mainly bought the Bubbler for it's ease of cleaning and for that it gets a 5/5. But the setup for the bung and airlock makes me check it often. Perhaps in time, I will get used to the bung feeling like it could pop out at any time, but for now I check every morning and night. Shame that the screw top does not have a hole for an airlock. (Posted on 3/4/14)
Weak glass/design? Review by Mark
Rating
Mine broke after 2-3 months, when a normal carboy bumped into it in the backseat around a corner. Icky appears correct in questioning the thickness of the glass; my incident wasn't a major impact. The functionality of the design can't be beat, but the design of the classic carboy, especially the neck, seems much stronger. I also agree with Anthony and Icky that a (stainless steel) lid designed for a larger stopper would also be a great improvement. Despite the strength issue, it is still probably a smart enough design to make it a good purchase, just remember it's a princess. 5 stars for functionality, 1 for integrity, averages to 3 stars. (Posted on 3/3/14)
A good investment with some hidden suprises Review by Jeff
Rating
One thing that I did notice that other reviewers may have missed is that there is a shot glass like plastic cap that has soda bottle threads in it. This cap also has two holes and is designed to turn the lid into an airlock for the carboy so no stopper or separate airlock is needed. The carboy is extremely easy to clean and weighs about the same as any other glass carboy.
It does fit in the brew hauler but what is left after adjusting it to the wider fit is slightly scary when you are carrying it. (Posted on 2/21/14)
At Last Review by Icky
Rating
I bought a pair of these a month ago and have only used them once so far, but I'm pretty happy. However, they are different in a few ways I wasn't anticipating. These mean a few other equipment purchases I wasn't counting on.

1) I agree with everything Anthony posted about the lid and in particular the blowoff hole. The central hole isn't large enough to accept a wine thief or larger auto-siphon. Having to take the big mouth lid off for transfers and samples is more exposure to air than I'd prefer. May have to get a mini-auto siphon. It also means you'll need to get some new stoppers since your 6.5 and 7s are way too big.

2) The glass is much thinner than your typical carboy. I feel like I need to use a lot more caution in handling these carboys. May need to get a rubber mat for them so I'm better protected when putting them on the concrete floor.

3) I didn't realize how much I relied on the neck of standard carboys for handling them. I initially thought the available harness for these wouldn't me much use, but now I'm reconsidering.

All in all, though still a very worthwhile purchase. (Posted on 2/15/14)
Dry Hop baby! Review by Tim
Rating
Agree with all the previous comments.
Easy addition and removal of Hops in the carboy is awesome. (Posted on 2/11/14)
Wonderful Product Review by Matthew
Rating
I received one of these for Christmas and just emptied it out after fermenting my first batch in it. This is an exceptional product. The airlock design is awesome and works VERY well. It comes with a threaded cap that has small openings in the bottom of it. You thread the cap on to the top of the carboy lid and fill the lid itself with water creating your air lock. Much better than a standard airlock in my opinion but they do include a drilled bung for a traditional airlock if you so choose. Cleaning was as you can expect, a breeze.

My only two gripes is the lid o ring is not a very durable material and secondly, the lid is sometimes very tough to get off when opening to draw samples and what not. The ridges in the glass are not an issue for me and the horizontal ridges actually line up perfectly for 1 gallon measurements (on mine it does anyway).

One other reviewer mentioned that you cannot order the lid seals and other items without purchasing the carboy but this is not true. I decided after I purchased the carboy that I wanted the blow off tube so I just put a comment in the notes of a later order to include the blow off tube only and charge my card the extra cost. Northern Brewer was happy to do that for me.

Overall, very happy with the product. (Posted on 2/5/14)

Items 21 to 30 of 40 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register