Carboy Bung for Glass Carboys - Drilled

SKU: 7081
Rating
15 Review(s)

Longer taper for snugger fit and better seal — a lip prevents bung from falling into carboy. Fits standard 3, 5, 6 and 6.5 gallon glass carboys. Not compatible with plastic Better Bottles. Drilled to accept an airlock (#7008 and 7010).

Drilled Bung for Glass Carboys

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 15 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
It gets better after the first use Review by Brian
Rating
Had a problem keeping it in my carboy on its first use. Striking it with a rubber mallet seemed to do the trick.
Second, third, and fourth use; no problems. Holds a seal just as good as a rubber stopper, wet or dry.
Bear with it the first round, get it broken in, and enjoy. (Posted on 9/9/13)
Pops Out Review by XPLSV
Rating
I've had problems with these popping out of my carboys. I've tried dry and wet...I just don't get a tight seal. I have found a use for them with my mix-stirrer when degassing wine. (Posted on 9/28/12)
Meh Review by Mikol
Rating
It worked great the first time, now the second time is when it won't stay in. Tried wetting it/drying it... I was actually wondering if these were single use for a while.. The worst part is that I'm not sure if I'm getting a good seal to prevent contamination! I guess we'll see in two months... (Posted on 7/15/12)
Slippery when wet Review by Sasha
Rating
Blasted things are very hard to keep in the bung when you've got even the slightest bit of water on the rim of the carboy or on the bung itself. (Posted on 5/26/12)
works great Review by shizzy
Rating
works great. All those who have issues with then popping back out, dunk your stopper in cheap vodka or simply let it dry for a few minutes after pulling it out of the starsan before pushing it in. (Posted on 3/31/12)
Does the job Review by Ryan
Rating
I agree the first use is the most tedious, but these work great on any use afterwards. I've had the same issues with the bung popping out on the first use and I waited until the bung dried a bit and it worked fine. These are way better than the rubber stoppers I have used in the past and they will not fall in the carboy. (Posted on 3/9/12)
Not that great. Review by Eric
Rating
One complaint that I would have would be that if you use star san, the stopper gets slippery will not grip onto the glass carboy when new, once the stopper is used once, it will be broken in (Like a new pair of shoes) and will work. (Posted on 1/18/12)
just bad Review by STEVE
Rating
I really dislike these stoppers. They don't stay in the carboy well and tend to pop out, not creating a good seal. (Posted on 11/21/11)
Works great, but you have to push it all the way in. Review by Jeff
Rating
Took me a while to figure out that you don't insert it partially like with a rubber stopper. It kept popping out of my Better Bottle until I jammed it all the way down the the lip. Now it's in there good and tight. (Posted on 6/19/11)
I use these in all of my carboys Review by carboy bungs
Rating
I wouldn't go back to regulary rubber stoppers after using these. They fit pretty tightly but are impossible to shove all the way through the neck of the carboy. (Posted on 5/23/11)

Items 1 to 10 of 15 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register