Wyeast 3522 Belgian Ardennes

SKU: Y3522
Rating
15 Review(s)

One of many great beer yeasts to produce classic Belgian ales. Phenolics develop with increased fermentation temperatures, mild fuitiness and complex spicy character. Apparent attenuation: 72-76%. Flocculation: high. Optimum temp: 65°-85° F

Wyeast 3522 Belgian Ardennes - Beer Yeast

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 15 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Good for lots of Belgian styles Review by Mr2beers
Rating
This yeast produces very nicely balanced Belgian beers. Not overpowering in the esters yet unmistakably Belgian. Adds some mild fruitiness and wild hay-like tones in the background. Very good attenuation which is great for high ABV beers. Definitely one of my all time favorite yeasts. (Posted on 1/12/14)
great belgian yeast Review by Derek
Rating
tore through wort both times I used it, nice light belgiany flavor and smell, worked very well for the BelgoAmerican IPAs I did (Posted on 1/8/14)
Great Yeast For Summer Review by Brett
Rating
This seems to be the most high-temperature tolerant yeast available from Wyeast. I used 3722 in late summer for an all-grain Surly Cynic kit (no starter) followed by an extract Tripel. The Surly fermented at an ambient temperature of 80-82F. I used the leftover yeast from the secondary fermenter for the Tripel. Temperature was somewhat cooler at around 75F. The yeast did an excellent job in both cases, producing unmistakably Belgian beers with plenty of fruity flavors but no flaws due to high summer temperatures that I could detect. I particularly love the Tripel, and will have no hesitation in using the 3522 yeast again in the future. (Posted on 11/20/13)
Versatile Yeast Review by John
Rating
Mostly have used this yeast for fermenting hoppy belgian styles (tripel ipa/big late hopped citrus farmhouse ales) and they have turned out great. Wonderful spiciness in the taste and fruity esters in the nose, blending well with late hops. This yeast leaves more body that my other favorites, French Saison 3711, which is a beast and devours all sugars regardless of mash temp, but leaves smooth silkiness. Can't go wrong with either, and don't be afraid to ferment hot (80s). (Posted on 10/22/13)
Holy molly..... Review by JProbsty
Rating
This strain is super strong. It will eat up everything and can withstand wide variations in fermentor temperatures. I used this during a Summer batch of Saison where my apartment was at a scorching 81-82f every evening and the beer turned out fantastic. Heavy banana flavors due to the high temperature but I expect those to calm down with conditioning. I'm guessing this strain is hard to mess up with. (Posted on 10/8/13)
Great Yeast Review by Kevin
Rating
Just racked off a batch to secondary with this yeast on Belgian Xmas beer recipe. It attenuated very well even with only a small yeast starter on a 9% beer. I will definitely use this again. (Posted on 10/7/13)
Excellent yeast for a Belgian IPA Review by Tom
Rating
I found this yeast complemented the hops in a Belgian IPA very nicely, adding spicy and fruity notes to the citrus and resin of the hops after fermenting at 68 degrees. Excellent attenuation (1.061 to 1.015 in a few days with a 1.4 liter starter), medium flocculation. (Posted on 9/17/13)
Great Flavor Review by Alex
Rating
I love the Belgian ale flavor in my beer. I keep looking for beer that calls for this yeast. (Posted on 8/8/13)
Great for open fermentation Review by Paul
Rating
I tried 3522 in open fermentation for a farmhouse saison and it turned out wonderful. The fermentation had a thick yeast head that was easy to crop. The saison it produced had a very pleasant banana flavor with a little bit of spiciness. It tasted more like a hefe weissbier after a couple of weeks of conditioning and then evolved to taste a bit more citrus. The banana, still evident, moved a little more to the background. One of my best and most interesting beers to date. (Posted on 3/29/13)
A great yeast! Review by Scott
Rating
This Yeast produces a fantastic finish on the palate. Like damp oak leaves and clove. It makes me think of Paulaner Hefe Weizen. As this yeast ferments you get a ton of tootie fruitie and bubblegum from the air lock. The finished beer gives a smooth, woodsy and spice character with a rich maltiness. (Posted on 12/8/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 15 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register