White Labs WLP001 California Ale

SKU: YP001
Rating
36 Review(s)

This yeast is famous for its clean flavors, balance and ability to be used in almost any style ale. It accentuates the hop flavors and is extremely versatile. Apparent attenuation: 73-80%. Flocculation: high. Optimum temp: 68°-73° F

White Labs WLP001 California Ale

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Makes a great beer! Review by Ben
Rating
Used it to make Denny Conn's Bourbon Vanilla Imperial Porter, per his recipe. Beer turned out awesome, as you would expect. Enough going on in the beer that the contribution from this particular yeast didn't stand out, but I think that was by design. The aroma during fermentation certainly was good! (Posted on 1/13/14)
I'm sold on Liquid Yeast Review by Jeff
Rating
My second time using a liquid yeast with a starter. It adds to a smoother beer and I will likely spend the extra few dollars on each batch to go with a liquid yeast option. (Posted on 1/8/14)
First brew - exceeded expectations Review by Tim
Rating
Used this in an AG Imperial IPA. Did a 1L starter for 36 hours prior to pitching. Took off very quickly (did the carboy shake - no oxygenation system yet).

Started to slow down 4 days in - took gravity from 1.076 to 1.019 (fermentation temp of 68º). Gave the carboy a swirl and stuck a heating pad to push the temp up a couple degrees to 70, and the beer finished at 1.010 - a solid 8.7% ABV. Lower than I expected to see!

It's finishing now after dry hopping a couple days back - and the beer appears to be clearing very nicely as it's stuck in a cold corner of the basement.

Great yeast for my first batch - very happy with results and I can't wait to taste it finished! (Posted on 1/7/14)
Outstanding! Review by Jonathan
Rating
They should rename these guys the yeasty boys causing they are tearing it up. Excellent jump start to the primary fermentation. (Posted on 12/30/13)
Love this yeast Review by pottymouth
Rating
Just getting started, but I keep coming back to this yeast. It always starts quickly and finishes in good time. I'll definitely be buying more. (Posted on 12/30/13)
Very Nice Review by Josh
Rating
Bought this for my Dead Ringer IPA and it was incredibly active throughout aggressive fermentation in the primary tank. (Posted on 12/27/13)
Excellent yeast Review by Alon
Rating
This was my first time using wet yeast and everything went better than expected. My worst was a bit too hot at first (~80C), but the yeast survived and managed to ferment. Fermentation ended after 4 or so days with the desired FG (Posted on 12/10/13)
Outstanding, easy to use Review by Kenneth
Rating
First time using liquid Yeast, no starter and bubbling away in less than 12 hours......just remember to get it to room temperature before using. (Posted on 12/5/13)
Very nice yeast Review by Frank
Rating
This yeast produces a dry, clean finish in any ale. It's relatively easy to work with and results are predictable. In the past, I used this for nearly all my ales. Lately, however, I have preferred WLP007; it has very similar results but works faster and flocs a bit better. (Posted on 11/19/13)
Great yeast, but slow shipment and warm "cold" pack. Review by Mark
Rating
This yeast worked great. The fermentation was the most active I have seen from any yeast. The cold pack was pretty much room temperature when the yeast arrived, but it didn't seem to matter much. I'll buy again. (Posted on 11/14/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register