Safale S-04 Ale Dry Yeast

SKU: Y007
Rating
30 Review(s)

A well-known English ale yeast, selected for its fast fermentation character and its ability to form a very compact sediment at the end of the fermentation, helping to improve beer clarity. This yeast is recommended for the production of a large range of ale beers and is specially well adapted to cask-conditioned ales and fermentation in cylindroconical tanks. High sedimentation. Optimum temp: 64°-75° F

Pic of Y007

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
love this yeast Review by baurrie
Rating
Love safale yeast (Posted on 12/2/13)
Solid yeast for English-style ales Review by James
Rating
Dependable dry yeast that you can use for practically any English-style beer. Works equally well in English IPA or porter, with mild ester character. Difficult to screw up. (Posted on 11/22/13)
Worked well Review by Joel
Rating
I've used this product a couple times now and never had bad results. (Posted on 11/13/13)
Great dry yeast Review by Carnell
Rating
I use this yeast for all my British ales with outstanding results every time (Posted on 11/5/13)
Easy to use. Quick ferment. Review by Dee
Rating
Got a quick ferment & it smelled delicious. Can't wait to try it. Bottling this weekend. (Posted on 11/4/13)
Easy to use. Quick ferment. Review by Dee
Rating
Got a quick ferment & it smelled delicious. Can't wait to try it. Bottling this weekend. (Posted on 11/4/13)
Great yeast Review by Brian
Rating
I use this yeast the most then the S-05. Both are very fast. Today is decided to try it a different way. I mixed a half tsp yeast nutrient blend in one cup of warm water stirred an pitched the yeast into it just before I started my Irish stout. In about 15 mins it was frothy. When I pitched this into my warm wort it was bubbling in 30 min. (Posted on 11/2/13)
Saved my bacon Review by Greg
Rating
After a failed fermentation start with a Wyeast package, fortunately I had a package of S-04 on hand to pitch on a one-day old, non-fermenting English Mild.

I had no idea if it would work, sprinkled it on dry. Like US-05, this Safale S-04 dry yeast was totally reliable, and it took off like a champ, even without rehydrating.

I use Safale dry yeasts all the time, they cannot be beat, even compared to higher priced liquid yeasts. This one saved my batch and not only that, my English Mild turned out fantastic.

I would absolutely use this one again for any English Ale style! (Posted on 10/28/13)
Fast acting! Review by Michael
Rating
First time using this yeast. Ordered it for use with a Chocolate Milk Stout. Four hours into the primary and it was churning away! Anxious to see how this one turns out. (Posted on 10/25/13)
I won't use it again Review by William H
Rating
I've used this yeast twice now. Both times I feel it has harmed my beer. The first time I use this yeast, I tasted my beer as I was bottling. It tasted incredible. But, after carbonating and conditioning, it developed a distinct "yeasty" off taste. I chocked it up to less than ideal fermenting conditions.
However, with the latest beer I brewed with this yeast, I took great care to keep it at a constant temperature around 70 degrees, ideal for fermenting. When bottling, I thought I had figured it out, because my beer (once again) tasted amazing. One of the best I'd ever brewed as a matter of fact. However, after spending a month in the bottle, which should be plenty of time for the yeast to condition/carbonate and settle to the bottom, I tasted it and once again found a very prominent yeasty off flavor.

This yeast didn't ruin my beer. It's still pretty tasty, and it's definitely drinkable. But it took what used to be a GREAT beer, and turned it into a pretty mediocre beer. I should have followed my instincts and not used this yeast. I won't be using it again. I'd prefer a cleaner, high quality English strain like WLP005.

Three stars because it at least gets the job done without totally ruining your beer. However, if you're thinking of using this yeast because of the price point. Don't bother. S-05 is the same price and doesn't give any of the bad off flavors this one does. (Posted on 10/11/13)

Items 11 to 20 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register