Safale S-04 Ale Yeast

SKU: Y007
Rating
30 Review(s)

A well-known English ale yeast, selected for its fast fermentation character and its ability to form a very compact sediment at the end of the fermentation, helping to improve beer clarity. This yeast is recommended for the production of a large range of ale beers and is specially well adapted to cask-conditioned ales and fermentation in cylindroconical tanks. High sedimentation. Optimum temp: 64°-75° F

Pic of Y007

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Pitched porter on top of.. Review by William
Rating
Ok, two previous reviews, and in my last I said I was gonna pitch a bourbon barrel porter on top of this yeast cake. Well I did, only modified recipe to use 100 proof rum infused with 3 vanilla beans. That was 8 months ago...

Beer came out tremendous. I bottled them in 22oz bombers and have been giving them out sparingly to special people. Trying to save some for Christmas.
This yeast is a beast. (Posted on 8/23/13)
Excellent for Ordinary Bitter Review by Ron
Rating
1.041 to 1.010 in three days @ 66F. I sprinkled it into the wort without rehydrating. Took a sample tonight and it's fantastic! I mean this beer will be ready to keg and drink after only a week. Don't hesitate to try this yeast. (Posted on 3/21/13)
fast vigorous fermentation Review by grant
Rating
Currently conditioning a pale ale with American hops and this English style yeast to see how it turns out, had a very fast ferment pitched at 70 degrees Fahrenheit. OG of 1.056 dropped to 1.010 after just 3days. Will certainly order again soon assuming the beer tastes good! (Posted on 1/13/13)
really good yeast Review by MARK
Rating
I did not get fast fermentation like a lot have said
1.044 start to a 1.010 finish and it took 3 weeks.
the yeast has a really good maltiness when done shocked seeing that it was a lite extract beer i brewed,
will be using this yeast as my No1 on testing other styles out. (Posted on 12/31/12)
Simplicity Review by Ken
Rating
No muss, no fuss, no starter no need to re-hydrate. Short lag time and fast efficient fermentation. Have been using this for years with excellent results. (Posted on 12/30/12)
Follow up on previous Review by William
Rating
Ok, I previously reported that the yeast blew off the blow off tube. Well in only a couple days fermentation of my Dry Irish Stout was complete, racked to secondary for another week and half then to my corny keg. Tried beer just before Christmas and wasn't ready, but only days later and it is spot on. From Primary to drinkablility in less than 6 weeks. Very impressed with this yeast. May never buy Guinness Pub Cans again... (Posted on 12/29/12)
Fermenting borders violence... Review by William
Rating
Have been using liquid yeast since I started homebrewing 4 years ago. Just bought some dry to try in a stout and WOW blew off the blow off tube.... Be anxious to try this brew, and will report later, but if it is looking great.
No starter, no yeast nutrients both of which I always do. Gonna try to pitch a porter on the yeast cake. (Posted on 12/7/12)
good stuff Review by Rookie L A
Rating
This IS my imperial stout yeast. I also used it in a mild that turned out pretty good (Posted on 3/10/12)
Excellent Yeast Review by Brooke
Rating
I use this for stouts & porters. Works just as well as liquid yeasts, for half the price of liquid yeasts, and you don't have to worry about the yeast dying if you aren't home to get it in the fridge when your delivery arrives! (Posted on 12/27/11)
bomb diggity Review by bruguru
Rating
If I had only 1 yeast to brew with, it would be this one. So versitlie, you can make most american, and English beers. Fermentation, is so fast, and complete, you can make a fantastic IPA in a week.
There is no deviation in esters, or fermentation character from pack to pack, perfectly consistant results every time. If you need a beer quickly, or if a beer you have made is stuck. S-04 is the Animal that works. Will fully ferment out in 3 days at 65F. Vigorous fermentation will take place 6 hours after pitching. (Posted on 10/20/11)

Items 21 to 30 of 30 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register