Standard Wort Chiller 3/8"x25' with hose fittings

SKU# 7870

Flat Rate Shipping only $7.99 only from Northern Brewer

Chill wort fast! This immersion chiller comes complete with brass garden hose connections and measures approx 5" to the top of the coils, 9.5" in diameter, 15" to the top of the chiller. Identical to our Standard Chiller with vinyl tubing, but with garden hose connections. Perfect for brewing outside.

Total:
$79.99

Availability: Out of stock

Pic of 7870

More Views

  • Pic of 7870

Videos

Product Details

This chiller is identical to the standard chiller with vinyl tubing, but includes the brass garden hose connections. Perfect for brewing outside.

The faster you can cool your wort from boiling to yeast-pitching temperature, the better your beer will turn out. Immersion chillers, plate and counterflow wort chilllers help improve beer clarity and can reduce the chances of off-flavors and contamination.

Some slight deformation may occur in shipping, but the soft copper tubing can be easily bent back to these specifications.

Compatible with standard garden hose replacement gaskets available at any hardware store. 

Additional Information
Support Documents:No
SizeNo
Reviews
3.0 / 5.0
9 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
1
4
0
2
2
Great product for the price
I had the same problem these other guys mentioned having--leaking around the hose fittings. It's a cinch to fix though, you just tighten them with a wrench and a pair of pliers. I did that once after I tested it and have never needed to again. It works great. Cools my 3.5G batches from boiling to 100F in about 25 minutes, using 80F water. My "cold" water isn't very cold and it still got it done in good time, leaving a nice crisp clear bear.
June 21, 2011
fix it before you use it
Like the others mine leaked quite a bit out of the box but once fixed worked well cooled 6 gallons from boil to 68 in 25-30minutes. I have to say to my northern brewer friends 2 cents worth of teflon tape and some elbow grease would fix this problem to quote espn come on man!
November 12, 2011
Does the job
I'll pay extra for a finished product instead of regretting wasting time and effort buying and bending tube. I tightened and re-taped one of fittings and was good to go. The hose inlet leaks but I won't be taping that part. Just let that section hang to the side, shake a few times to "circulate" during the chill and 25 minutes later I'm down to 72 degrees and ready to pitch the yeast.
January 4, 2014
It works, but its not like the picture
Ours came without the raised portion as pictured so the coils just sit on the bottom of the pot. We were still about to cool five gallons down to about 90 degrees in ten minutes using 83 degree tap water but I wish it sat higher in the pot.
September 22, 2013
should have tested it
this is unfortunately normal... but if you actually used TONS of tape... then that was overkill... $1 white plumbing tape should cure the issue... test things out before you put them to actual use... this chiller does the job... plus you don't need to have the water running at full strength you actually want it to run at a slow pace in order to make certain that it chills the line... you don't have to run a river through it we are cooling wort not a nuclear power plant.
April 26, 2011
Could Be a Lot Better
I was surprised by the low quality of this product given the price tag. I had to apply tons of tape near the garden hose connectors to get this to to stop leaking. Nothing worse than a long boil and then having your chiller spray water all over your cool wort. Would probably be fine if I didn't have to fix it out of the box.
April 5, 2011
Broken
The very first time I went to use it, the hose fitting wasn't properly flared so water was spewing everywhere from the fitting and I had to use JB weld for a quick fix. I eventually flared the edges of the pipes to where the fittings actually fit and work properly. The wort chiller overall is a great tool. Just wasn't pleased to receive goods that were improperly manufactured.
June 8, 2016
Response from Northern Brewer
Customer service is contacting you to offer our help!
November 21, 2016
Northern Brewer N
buy $15 of soft copper tubing at home depot instead.
Why in the name of all that is holy would you pay $85 for something you can buy $20 of materials to make yourself in 15 minutes??? I bought a 20 foot roll of soft copper tubing 3/8" OD.. for $15. 10 feet of vinyl tubing that fits on the outside of the copper pipe for $5.. and a couple hose clamps... hook it up your faucet adapter and let 'er rip.
December 22, 2011
i had leaks...
used my wort chiller for the first time and had minor leaks from the metal connectors and the copper coil. called but was told to tighten them. when that didn’t work, i had my neighbor help me by re-flaring the copper ends and we now have a tighter connection and no leaks. was pretty frustrated to have to spend so much money on something that i could have built on my own.
October 21, 2015
Response from Northern Brewer
Glad to hear it was fixable. Let us know if we can help!
November 21, 2016
Northern Brewer N
Q&A
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!

Please wait...

Your selected product has been added to your Cart.

Continue shopping
View cart & checkout