Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Glass Fermentor

SKU: U42065
Rating
39 Review(s)

THE EASIEST VESSEL TO GET CLEAN & KEEP CLEAN.
When you put your brew in a fermentation vessel, your ONE expectation is that it will stay clean and that your yeast will be able to eat happily without anything funky going on. A strictly non-funky fermentation party. That's it. But how can you expect the cleanest and safest fermentation environment when you can’t even scrub the bottle with your own two hands? Superior to a carboy, this vessel was designed especially for sanitizing and fermentation.

DESIGNED BY BREWERS, FOR HOMEBREWING.
Brewing can be a messy business—but no more! Stick your arm in to clean the entire inside with a swipe of the cleaning cloth. No need to use an inefficient test tube brush to reach corners and curves. Enjoy total confidence that every hint of bacteria is gone, protecting you investment in brewtime. The wide-mouth makes it easy to add or remove ingredients. The screw top guarantees the top stays on through fermentation. Say goodbye to your glass carboys!

BIG MOUTH BUBBLER™
Product Specifications:
5 gallon 6.5 gallon
SKU: 42050 42065
Price: $37.99 $43.99
Weight: 13 16
Height (w/lid, closed): 16" 17 5/8"
Diameter: 11 7/8" 12 3/8"
Mouth: 5.5" 5.5"
Lid material: PP PP
Lid Seal Material: PE Foam PE Foam

Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Fermentor

Customer Reviews

Items 31 to 39 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
A step in the right direction Review by John
Rating
Much better than the standard carboy. Like one other reviewer mentioned, the inside would be better without the grooves and ears or tabs on the lid would make it perfect. Still, I would use this over the old carboy any day. (Posted on 1/25/14)
WHHY DIDNT I THINK OF THIS?!?!?!? Review by Ben
Rating
I have been homebrewing for almost a decade. I, like many others, have spent hours upon hours upon hours trying to get every last little bit of yeast, krausen, and just all the muck out of my traditional carboys. I don't even want to talk about trying to dry hop with whole leaf hops, or adding a bag of oak spirals through that small opening. I received a 6.5 big mouth bubbler for Christmas and have since fermented 2 batches in it. Needless to say, I LOVE IT!!! So much so, I ordered a second and fully intend on ordering a third. The ease of cleaning, dry hopping, and adding flavors to your secondary is unmatched. If you've arrived at this review, stop reading and order your Big Mouth Bubbler NOW!!! (Posted on 1/14/14)
Good Idea Review by Ryan
Rating
Overall it's a good idea, soaking the other fermenters in PBW was getting expensive. The first fermentation i had with this i simply used the clear cap and some sanitzer, the fermentation blew off through the cap and over the sides (had fermenter in plastic tub). Once settled a little more i just inscrewed the cap rinsed and resanitized and it seemed to work fine. (Posted on 1/9/14)
Great idea, lid needs some rethinking Review by Anthony
Rating
Overall great idea. However, there are some flaws in the lid design. For one, the lid construction is rather flimsy plastic, and the gaskets are a cheap foam type, which as of now you can only order spares when you purchase the carboy. Secondly, the size of the second smaller opening which accomodates the stopper/airlock is small and inconvenient for carryover of stoppers from other carboys (1, 5, and 6.5 gal). Also, it prohibits use of the dual drilled #6.5 stopper for a thermowell due to its small size. The outside of the smaller opening is also threaded, which makes a 1 inch ID vinyl blow off tube useless as it is not airtight.

Overall, great idea and makes cleaning and rinsining much easier and quicker, but as others have mentioned the lid needs some redesign. I would love to see a stainless steel lid option with a larger stopper/airlock opening and gaskets of better materials. (Posted on 1/8/14)
Great fermentation jug, well thought out design! Review by John
Rating
I like to see the yeast eating away in my fermenter. This jug is great for this and many other reasons.
Pros:
Even at 6.5 this vessel is lower in height than even a 5 gallon Carboy,@ 2 3/4" shorter, it provides additional room for fermentation spaces with height restrictions.

With a strip thermometer that attaches to the outside of a vessel, a more accurate reading of you're fermenting wort can be obtained because this vessel is wider and shorter than others, allowing less stratification of liquids,therefore obtaining a more concentrated reading.

The threaded lid and gasket allow a tight seal, when used properly.

The large lid allows ease of taking hydrometer samples.

Very easy cleaning, increasing efficiency of sanitation.

The small diameter interior screw off cap that supports the included bung for an air lock, is the smallest bung available. I would prefer a gallon jug (#6) size bung hole design instead because I fit a blowoff hose over the interior tube section of three piece locks. However I believe they designed this smaller hole to accommodate a blow off hose directly.
Another plastic cap is provided, that I believe they intended to use with a #6 bung if you drill the top part of the cap out as an adapter ? Maybe they will change the lid design in the future, but no problem, they provide versatility. A great vessel overall!






(Posted on 1/4/14)
Not sure about blowoff Review by Jake
Rating
I was a little worried my blow-off tube wouldn't fit on here properly but it slid right over the small opening threads. However, it didn't seem like the air was making it into my blowoff vessel. It's possible I had the tube so deep that the air pressure wasn't enough to actually blow all the way though, but that means the air was coming out through the side of the blowoff around the threads.

Might be nice to have an additional screw top with barbs on it instead of just the screws for the blow-off (or just don't seat your blowoff tube too deep in the vessel).

However, it was really easy to clean when I got it and super easy to pitch my yeast with such a large opening (I usually have to use a funnel).
(Posted on 1/3/14)
Awesome! Review by benjamin
Rating
Funny story, about a month before these came out, I had mentioned how an open mouth glass fermenter would be.....boom...it happens! I could have made millions.

These are great, so easy to clean. Glass is superior to plastic in so many ways. For carrying these around the house I like to put them in the plastic milk crates. Saves some money instead of using a brew hauler. The lid can be a little tricky to open when it has a tight seal. I just try to put it only as tight as it needs to be.

The only bad part about these is there is not a large enough area to put a fermometer. My workaround if to cut the strip between 48 and 50, then put the pieces on in separate areas. (Posted on 12/26/13)
nice but need improvement Review by ken
Rating
love being able to get into it with my arm and scrubbing. the grooves on the glass do make it necessary to really dig in and make sure you get everything out. also they need to add ears to the lid so you can grab something to twist it on and off...very difficult once its on there tight during fermentation. (Posted on 12/20/13)
Big Mouth, no hassle Review by Carlos
Rating
I used this fermentor on my last batch. It is so much easier to clean and sterilize. Once full it is still heavy and awkward to hold so I do suggest using the Big Mouth Harness. I will never use a standard small mouth carboy again. Everything about this carboy makes all tasks easier like taking hydrometer samples, aerating, and cleaning. (Posted on 12/20/13)

Items 31 to 39 of 39 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register