Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Glass Fermentor

SKU: U42065
Rating
47 Review(s)

THE EASIEST VESSEL TO GET CLEAN & KEEP CLEAN.
When you put your brew in a fermentation vessel, your ONE expectation is that it will stay clean and that your yeast will be able to eat happily without anything funky going on. A strictly non-funky fermentation party. That's it. But how can you expect the cleanest and safest fermentation environment when you can’t even scrub the bottle with your own two hands? Superior to a carboy, this vessel was designed especially for sanitizing and fermentation.

DESIGNED BY BREWERS, FOR HOMEBREWING.
Brewing can be a messy business—but no more! Stick your arm in to clean the entire inside with a swipe of the cleaning cloth. No need to use an inefficient test tube brush to reach corners and curves. Enjoy total confidence that every hint of bacteria is gone, protecting you investment in brewtime. The wide-mouth makes it easy to add or remove ingredients. The screw top guarantees the top stays on through fermentation. Say goodbye to your glass carboys!

BIG MOUTH BUBBLER™
Product Specifications:
5 gallon 6.5 gallon
SKU: 42050 42065
Weight: 13 16
Height (w/lid, closed): 16" 17 5/8"
Diameter: 11 7/8" 12 3/8"
Mouth: 5.5" 5.5"
Lid material: PP PP
Lid Seal Material: PE Foam PE Foam

Availability: Out of stock

Big Mouth Bubbler™ - 6.5 Gallon Fermentor

Customer Reviews

Items 31 to 40 of 47 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
So glad I waited. Review by Will
Rating
Had been brewing for over a year on Mr. Beer kits (2 gallons) and only recently started doing (2) 1 gallon NB kits, to step up my game. Starting to get hooked on this whole 'homebrew' thing, so when it came time to upgrade, this was the obvious choice. I've heard of (and seen) standard carboy cleaning procedure nightmares, so I really wanted to avoid that.

Ordered the pair (6.5 & 5) and one showed up broken. NB fixed that quick. Brewed the Sierra Madre pale ale as the inaugural beer, and bottled last week. After racking to bottling bucket, I brought this thing outside and blasted it with the hose. Literally done cleaning in five minutes. Little scrubbing with the included rags and it looked good as new. Got brew #2 going as we speak (American amber that I'm gonna add bananas too). Sure to be happy! (Posted on 3/14/14)
Easy to clean, but ... Review by Jim
Rating
I mainly bought the Bubbler for it's ease of cleaning and for that it gets a 5/5. But the setup for the bung and airlock makes me check it often. Perhaps in time, I will get used to the bung feeling like it could pop out at any time, but for now I check every morning and night. Shame that the screw top does not have a hole for an airlock. (Posted on 3/4/14)
Weak glass/design? Review by Mark
Rating
Mine broke after 2-3 months, when a normal carboy bumped into it in the backseat around a corner. Icky appears correct in questioning the thickness of the glass; my incident wasn't a major impact. The functionality of the design can't be beat, but the design of the classic carboy, especially the neck, seems much stronger. I also agree with Anthony and Icky that a (stainless steel) lid designed for a larger stopper would also be a great improvement. Despite the strength issue, it is still probably a smart enough design to make it a good purchase, just remember it's a princess. 5 stars for functionality, 1 for integrity, averages to 3 stars. (Posted on 3/3/14)
A good investment with some hidden suprises Review by Jeff
Rating
One thing that I did notice that other reviewers may have missed is that there is a shot glass like plastic cap that has soda bottle threads in it. This cap also has two holes and is designed to turn the lid into an airlock for the carboy so no stopper or separate airlock is needed. The carboy is extremely easy to clean and weighs about the same as any other glass carboy.
It does fit in the brew hauler but what is left after adjusting it to the wider fit is slightly scary when you are carrying it. (Posted on 2/21/14)
At Last Review by Icky
Rating
I bought a pair of these a month ago and have only used them once so far, but I'm pretty happy. However, they are different in a few ways I wasn't anticipating. These mean a few other equipment purchases I wasn't counting on.

1) I agree with everything Anthony posted about the lid and in particular the blowoff hole. The central hole isn't large enough to accept a wine thief or larger auto-siphon. Having to take the big mouth lid off for transfers and samples is more exposure to air than I'd prefer. May have to get a mini-auto siphon. It also means you'll need to get some new stoppers since your 6.5 and 7s are way too big.

2) The glass is much thinner than your typical carboy. I feel like I need to use a lot more caution in handling these carboys. May need to get a rubber mat for them so I'm better protected when putting them on the concrete floor.

3) I didn't realize how much I relied on the neck of standard carboys for handling them. I initially thought the available harness for these wouldn't me much use, but now I'm reconsidering.

All in all, though still a very worthwhile purchase. (Posted on 2/15/14)
Dry Hop baby! Review by Tim
Rating
Agree with all the previous comments.
Easy addition and removal of Hops in the carboy is awesome. (Posted on 2/11/14)
Wonderful Product Review by Matthew
Rating
I received one of these for Christmas and just emptied it out after fermenting my first batch in it. This is an exceptional product. The airlock design is awesome and works VERY well. It comes with a threaded cap that has small openings in the bottom of it. You thread the cap on to the top of the carboy lid and fill the lid itself with water creating your air lock. Much better than a standard airlock in my opinion but they do include a drilled bung for a traditional airlock if you so choose. Cleaning was as you can expect, a breeze.

My only two gripes is the lid o ring is not a very durable material and secondly, the lid is sometimes very tough to get off when opening to draw samples and what not. The ridges in the glass are not an issue for me and the horizontal ridges actually line up perfectly for 1 gallon measurements (on mine it does anyway).

One other reviewer mentioned that you cannot order the lid seals and other items without purchasing the carboy but this is not true. I decided after I purchased the carboy that I wanted the blow off tube so I just put a comment in the notes of a later order to include the blow off tube only and charge my card the extra cost. Northern Brewer was happy to do that for me.

Overall, very happy with the product. (Posted on 2/5/14)
Well worth it Review by Flyfish-PA
Rating
This is probably the best equipment purchase I have made in a while. The wide mouth makes clean up soooooo much easier. Why this wasn't done before I'll never know but kudos for them to come up with it now. All of the parts are quality. I literally have no complaints. (Posted on 2/2/14)
A step in the right direction Review by John
Rating
Much better than the standard carboy. Like one other reviewer mentioned, the inside would be better without the grooves and ears or tabs on the lid would make it perfect. Still, I would use this over the old carboy any day. (Posted on 1/25/14)
WHHY DIDNT I THINK OF THIS?!?!?!? Review by Ben
Rating
I have been homebrewing for almost a decade. I, like many others, have spent hours upon hours upon hours trying to get every last little bit of yeast, krausen, and just all the muck out of my traditional carboys. I don't even want to talk about trying to dry hop with whole leaf hops, or adding a bag of oak spirals through that small opening. I received a 6.5 big mouth bubbler for Christmas and have since fermented 2 batches in it. Needless to say, I LOVE IT!!! So much so, I ordered a second and fully intend on ordering a third. The ease of cleaning, dry hopping, and adding flavors to your secondary is unmatched. If you've arrived at this review, stop reading and order your Big Mouth Bubbler NOW!!! (Posted on 1/14/14)

Items 31 to 40 of 47 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register